Central Coast NSWCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Narara Valley District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Narara Valley District is 30,476, with a population density of 8.85 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Narara Valley District is bounded by the locality of Ourimbah, the railway line, Mannings Road, Cutrock Road and the locality of Tumbi Umbi in the north, The Ridgeway, the locality of Holgate and Toomeys Road in the east, the suburb of Springfield, Etna Street, the railway line, Narara Creek and the suburb of West Gosford in the south, and the locality of Somersby in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1820s, when the first land grants were made, with land used mainly for timber-getting and cattle grazing. Population was minimal until the 1880s, with growth through to the early 1900s, spurred by the opening of the railway line and the establishment of orcharding. In 1912 the Narara section of the Horticultural Research and Advisory Station (NSW Agriculture) was established. Significant development occurred during the post-war years, particularly from the 1960s. The population generally increased gradually from the early 1990s as new dwellings were added to the area, particularly medium density housing.

Land use

Narara Valley District includes residential areas, some commercial and industrial land use, and rural areas in the northern, eastern, south-eastern and western outskirts.

Major features

Major features of the area include Citigate Shopping Centre, Lisarow Plaza, Niagara Park Shopping Centre, Wyoming Shopping Centre, Gosford Private Hospital, Laycock Street Theatre, Niagara Park Stadium, Gosford Horticultural Research & Advisory Station (Narara Section), Narara Miniature Railway, Alan Davidson Park, Bradys Gully Park, Canning Park, Caroline Cox Reserve, Carrington Street Oval, Condulla Park, Gavenlock Oval, Jarrett Street Playground, Karina Drive Playground, Maidens Brush Oval, Marangani Avenue Playground, Mitchell Park, Narara Crescent Playground, Orange Parade Playground, Paddy Clifton Oval, Pandala Oval, Pangari Close Playground, Pearson Park, Pemell Creek Reserve, Pluim Park, Sensory Park, The Duck Pond, Treeline Park, Washington Avenue Playground, W B Grahame Recreational Reserve, Willari Avenue Playground, Winter Close Playground, Worrell Park, Wyunda Court Playground, the Lisarow, Narara and Niagara Park railway stations, Lisarow High School, Narara Valley High School, St Philip’s Christian College and numerous other schools.

Included areas

Narara Valley District encompasses the suburbs and localities of Lisarow, Mount Elliot, Narara, Niagara Park, North Gosford and Wyoming.