Central Coast NSWCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

The Entrance District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for The Entrance District is 27,612, with a population density of 12.86 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Entrance District is bounded by the northern boundary of Wyrrabalong National Park in the north, the Tasman Sea in the east, the suburb of Forresters Beach and Bellevue Road in the south, and the locality of Tumbi Umbi, Sherry Street, Eastern Road, the suburb of Killarney Vale and Tuggerah Lake in the west. This area includes two sections of land, separated by The Entrance Channel, but joined by The Entrance Bridge.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the late 1820s when the first land grants were made. Population was minimal until the late 1800s, with growth spurred by tourism. Significant development did not occur until the 1960s. Rapid growth took place during the 1970s and 1980s. The population generally increased between 1991 and 2011 as new dwellings were added to the area, particularly medium and high density housing.

Land use

The Entrance District is a residential, holiday and national park area, with some commercial areas, particularly along The Entrance Road.

Major features

Major features of the area include Wyrrabalong National Park, Bateau Bay Beach, Blue Bay Beach, North Entrance Beach, Pelican Beach, Shelly Beach, The Entrance Beach, Toowoon Bay Beach, Tuggerah Beach, The Entrance Baths, Bateau Bay Flora Reserve, Crackneck Point Lookout, The Entrance Pelican Feeding, Bateau Bay Square shopping centre, Cresthaven Shopping Centre, Lakeside Shopping Centre, The Entrance Town Centre, Waterfront Plaza, Bateau Bay Golf Range, Magenta Shores Golf & Country Club, Shelly Beach Golf Club, Entrance District Sporting and Community Centre (including EDSACC Oval North and EDSACC Oval South), the Tuggerah Lake foreshore, the ocean foreshore, Apex Park, Baden Powell Park, Bateau Bay Mini Park, Bateau Bay Oval, Coleridge Reserve, Earl Street Reserve, Faye Close Reserve, Jubilee Park, Karagi Park, Lentara Walk Reserve, Long Jetty Foreshore Reserve, Long Jetty Lions Park, Long Jetty Rotary Park, Matron Simpson Reserve, Naomi Honey Reserve, North Entrance Foreshore Reserve, Pat Morley Oval, Peter Clifford Reserve, Picnic Point Reserve, Saltwater Creek Reserve, Shore Park, Sir Joseph Banks Oval, Sutton Reserve (Bruce Burgess Park), Swadling Park, Taylor Park, Terilbah Park, The Entrance Memorial Park, Walter & Edith Denniss Park, various jetties, Toowoon Point, The Entrance Bridge, Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College (The Entrance Campus) and several other schools.

Included areas

The Entrance District encompasses the suburbs of Bateau Bay, Blue Bay, Long Jetty, Magenta, Shelly Beach, The Entrance, The Entrance North and Toowoon Bay.