Central Coast NSWCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Coastal District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Coastal District is 35,393, with a population density of 6.54 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Coastal District is bounded by The Ridgeway, Tumbi Road, Tanderra Road, the locality of Tumbi Umbi, Bellevue Road, Whalans Road and the suburb of Bateau Bay in the north, the Tasman Sea in the east, Mourawaring Moor and Bouddi National Park in the south, and the locality of Bensville, Doyle Road, the suburbs of Kincumber, Green Point and Erina, The Entrance Road, the suburb of Springfield, Toomeys Road and the localities of Mount Elliot and Lisarow in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from 1824, when the first land grants were made, with land used mainly for timber-getting and farming. Growth took place during the late 1800s and early 1900s, with ship building, orcharding and tourism becoming important industries. Some subdivisions took place in the 1930s, with greater growth in the coastal areas from the post-war years, particularly from the 1960s. Rapid growth occurred during the 1970s and 1980s. The population increased during the 1990s as dwelling occupancy rates increased and new dwellings were added to the area, including medium density housing. Growth continued between 2001 and 2011, but at a slower rate, as fewer new dwellings were added to the area.

Land use

Coastal District includes residential and holiday areas along the coast, expanding rural-residential areas in the north-west, and rural areas in the south-west, west and north-west.

Major features

Major features of the area include Wyrrabalong National Park, part of Kincumba Mountain Reserve, Wamberal Lagoon Nature Reserve, Wambina Nature Reserve, Avoca Beach, Copacabana Beach, Forresters Beach, MacMasters Beach, Terrigal Beach, North Avoca Beach, Wamberal Beach, Avoca Beach Rock Pool, MacMasters Beach Rock Pool, Terrigal Beach Ocean Rock Pool, Avoca Lake, Cockrone Lagoon, Terrigal Lagoon, Wamberal Lagoon, Terrigal Haven, Central Coast Marine Discovery Centre, Fires Creek Winery, Ken Duncan Gallery, Breakers Country Club, Swingers Golf Complex, Des Johns Aquatic and Fitness Centre, Gosford City Basketball and Sports Stadium, Matcham Valley Pony Club, Albatross Park, Anniversary Avenue Playground, Archibold Park, Banavie Reserve, Bellbird Park, Benjamin Parker Reserve, Brendan Franklin Oval, Captain Cook Memorial Park, Cheryl Avenue Playground, Copacabana Park, Corribeg Reserve, Drummer Parry Park, Duffy’s Reserve, Golden Grove Circuit Playground, Heazlett Park, Hunter Park, Katandra Reserve, Lakeshore Drive Playground, Lett Park, Lions Unity Park, Palm Gully Park, Paul Oval, Ross Park, Rysdyk Paradise Playground, Shaun Brinklow Park, South End Park, Stratford Park, Susan Fahey Park, Terrigal Haven Reserve, Terrigal Lagoon Reserve, Terrigal Rotary Park, The Round Drive Playground, Walder Crescent Playground, Wamberal Park, The Skillion, Broken Head, Bareena Island, several lookouts, Cockrone Lagoon Foreshore Walkway, The Coast Walking Track, Wamberal Cemetery, Central Coast Grammar School, Terrigal High School and numerous other schools.

Included areas

Coastal District encompasses the suburbs and localities of Avoca Beach, Copacabana, Erina Heights, Forresters Beach, Holgate, MacMasters Beach, Matcham, North Avoca, Picketts Valley, Terrigal and Wamberal.