Central Coast NSWCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Mountains District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Mountains District is 3,929, with a population density of 0.07 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Mountains District is bounded by the localities of Kulnura and Central Mangrove in the north, the locality of Palm Grove, Dog Trap Road and the localities of Niagara Park, Narara and West Gosford in the east, the localities of Kariong and Woy Woy, the Hawkesbury River and Hornsby Shire in the south, and Hawkesbury City in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1820s when the first land grants were made, mainly along the Lower Hawkesbury River. Land was used largely for timber-getting, general farming and oyster farming. Growth took place during the late 1800s, spurred by the opening of the railway line in the 1880s and tourism. The most significant development occurred from the post-war years, particularly during the 1950s and 1960s, aided by improved access. The population has fluctuated since the early 1990s, a result of small changes in dwelling stock, dwelling occupancy rates and the average number of persons living in each dwelling.

Land use

Mountains District is a predominantly rural area, with some rural-residential areas, holiday areas along the waterways in the south, and significant areas of national park. Substantial industrial areas are located in the locality of Somersby. Rural land is used largely for farming, with fishing, oyster farming and quarrying also being important industries.

Major features

Major features of the area include Brisbane Water National Park, Dharug National Park, Popran National Park, McPherson State Forest, Ourimbah State Forest, Strickland State Forest, the Hawkesbury River, Mooney Mooney Creek, Strickland Falls, Girrakool Picnic Area, Somersby Falls Picnic Area, Palm Grove Nature Reserve, Spectacle Island Nature Reserve, Little Wobby Beach, Spencer Tidal Pool, Howe Aboriginal Area, Mooney Aboriginal Area, Australia Walkabout Wildlife Park, Australian Reptile Park, Broken Bay Sport and Recreation Centre, The Springs Golf Club, Glenworth Valley Outdoor Adventures, Outdoor Education Centre Gosford, Mooney Mooney Club, Allen Park Raceway, Booker Reserve, Cheero Point Park, Deerubbun Reserve, Fred Pinkstone Oval, Mountain District Sports Park, Point Road Playground, Shakeys Forest Reserve, Somersby Recreation Reserve, Spencer Waterfront Playground, Tom McKenzie Park, The Great North Walk, Gosford Horticultural Research & Advisory Station (Somersby Section), Somersby Water Treatment Plant, various lookouts, the Wondabyne railway station and two schools.

Included areas

Mountains District encompasses the localities of Bar Point, Calga, Cheero Point, Cogra Bay, Glenworth Valley, Greengrove, Gunderman, Little Wobby, Lower Mangrove, Mangrove Creek, Mangrove Mountain, Marlow, Mooney Mooney, Mooney Mooney Creek, Mount White, Peats Ridge, Somersby, Spencer, Upper Mangrove, Wendoree Park and Wondabyne, and the Central Coast Council area parts of the localities of Ten Mile Hollow and Wisemans Ferry.