City of OnkaparingaCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Northern District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Northern District is 40,784, with a population density of 11.89 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Northern District is bounded by the Sturt River in the north, the localities of Coromandel East and Chandlers Hill, the western edge of Clarendon Lutheran Camp and Mount Malvern Road in the east, the locality of Chandlers Hill, Education Road, the northern edge of The Vines Golf Club of Reynella and Reynell Road in the south, and Panalatinga Road and Main South Road in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the late 1830s, with land used for farming, grazing, timber-cutting, market gardening, orcharding and vineyards. Some growth took place from the 1880s into the 1910s. Happy Valley Reservoir was constructed in the 1890s. Significant development did not occur until the post-war years, particularly from the 1950s to the 1980s as Adelaide’s suburban growth spread outwards. Rapid growth took place between the 1950s and 1960s in Darlington and O’Halloran Hill, between the 1960s and 1970s in Reynella East, between the 1960s and 1980s in Aberfoyle Park and Flagstaff Hill, and between the 1970s and 1980s in Happy Valley and Coromandel Valley. The population of the District increased slightly between 1991 and 2006 as new dwellings were added to the area, particularly in Aberfoyle Park and Flagstaff Hill. The population was then relatively stable between 2006 and 2011.

Land use

Northern District is a residential and rural area, including water storage and parklands.

Major features

Major features of the District include Happy Valley Reservoir, Sturt Gorge Recreation Park, Aberfoyle Hub Shopping Centre, Happy Valley Shopping Centre, Horndale Distillery & Wine Cellars, Flagstaff Hill Golf Club, The Hub Recreation Centre, Aberfoyle Community Centre, Coromandel Community Centre, Thalassa Park & Gardens, Flagstaff Hill Recreation Ground, Happy Valley Oval, Minkarra Park, Northern Community Recreation Park, Pioneer Park, Stoneyhill Reserve, Weymouth Oval, Flagstaff Rotary Walk and numerous schools.

Included areas

Northern District encompasses the suburbs and localities of Aberfoyle Park, Flagstaff Hill, Happy Valley and Reynella East, and the City of Onkaparinga parts of Coromandel Valley, Darlington and O'Halloran Hill. The remaining part of the suburb of Coromandel Valley is located in the City of Mitcham. The remaining parts of the suburbs of Darlington and O'Halloran Hill are located in the City of Marion.