City of OnkaparingaCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Central South District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Central South District is 22,866, with a population density of 8.38 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Central South District is bounded by the Onkaparinga River, Main South Road, Church Hill Road and Piggott Range Road in the north, the localities of Onkaparinga Hills and McLaren Vale, Quarry Road, Victor Harbor Road, Ostrich Farm Road, the locality of McLaren Vale and Main South Road in the east, Thomas Road, Old Coach Road and Tuitt Road in the south, and Gulf St Vincent in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1840s, with land used mainly for farming, particularly cereal crops. Some growth took place during the late 1800s and early 1900s when the coastal areas became popular for holiday makers. Significant development did not occur until the post-war years. Rapid growth took place during the 1950s and 1960s in the suburbs of Maslin Beach, Moana, Old Noarlunga, Port Noarlunga South and Seaford. Rapid growth took place from the early 1990s, with the population of the District almost doubling between 1991 and 2011 as large numbers of new dwellings were added to the area, particularly in the new suburbs of Seaford Heights and Seaford Rise, and to a lesser extent in Seaford, and more recently in the new suburb of Seaford Meadows.

Land use

Central South District is a residential and rural area, with developing areas in the north-east at Seaford Meadows.

Major features

Major features of the District include Onkaparinga River National Park, Moana Sands Conservation Park, Jubilee Park & Adventure Playground, Market Square Reserve, Onkaparinga River Recreation Park, Onkaparinga Head, Maslin Beach (nude bathing), Moana Beach, Seaford Beach, Seaford Central Shopping Centre, Seaford Meadows Shopping Centre, Seaford Recreation Centre, Seaford Community Centre, Dyson Wines, Babbacombe Reserve, Costa Vista Reserve, Frank Hilton Reserve, Graham Rabbett Reserve, Helmsman Reserve, Hutchinson Reserve, Jasmine Reserve, Karingal Reserve, Noarlunga Oval, Noarlunga Recreation Ground, Pedler Creek Reserve, Port Noarlunga Oval, Quadrant Reserve, Quarry Reserve, Tiller Reserve, Whitney Reserve, the coastal recreation reserve, the Onkaparinga River, the Coast to Vines Rail Trail and numerous schools.

Included areas

Central South District encompasses the suburbs and localities of Maslin Beach, Moana, Old Noarlunga, Port Noarlunga South, Seaford, Seaford Heights, Seaford Meadows and Seaford Rise.