City of OnkaparingaCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Central North District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Central North District is 74,409, with a population density of 12.22 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Central North District is bounded by the City of Marion, Main South Road, Panalatinga Road, Reynell Road and a line running continuous of Reynell Road in the north, Education Road, Armata Road, Pimpala Road, Pine Road, the locality of Onkaparinga Hills, Kellys Road and States Road in the east, Piggott Range Road, Church Hill Road, Main South Road and the Onkaparinga River in the south, and Gulf St Vincent in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the late 1830s, with land used mainly for crop growing, grazing, orchards and vineyards. Population was minimal until the 1850s when several small townships were established. Some growth took place during the late 1800s and early 1900s, particularly in the township of Morphett Vale and in the areas west of this. Significant development did not occur until the post-war years, with rapid residential growth between the 1950s and 1970s in the suburbs of Christie Downs, Christies Beach, Morphett Vale and O’Sullivan Beach. Growth spread to the suburbs of Hackham, Hackham West, Huntfield Heights, Port Noarlunga and Reynella from the 1960s. Industrial development took place in the suburb of Lonsdale from the 1960s. During the 1970s and 1980s the suburb of Noarlunga Downs developed, with the suburbs of Old Reynella and Woodcroft developing during the 1980s and early 1990s. The population of the District generally increased gradually between 1991 and 2011 as new dwellings were added to the area, particularly in Woodcroft during the 1990s, Old Reynella during the early 1990s, and more recently in Noarlunga Downs.

Land use

Central North District is a predominantly residential area, with industrial areas in the suburbs of Hackham and Lonsdale, commercial areas in Morphett Vale and Noarlunga Centre, and rural areas in the north-west of Reynella.

Major features

Major features of the District include Christies Beach, O’Sullivan Beach, Port Noarlunga Beach, Southport Beach, Port Noarlunga Aquatic Reserve, Onkaparinga River Recreation Park, Tangari Regional Park, Colonnades Shopping Centre, Christies Beach shopping precinct, Noarlunga Homemaker Centre, Old Reynella Shopping Centre, Reynella Neighbourhood Centre, Southgate Plaza, Woodcroft Plaza, Woodcroft Town Centre & Mall, TAFE SA (Noarlunga Campus), Noarlunga Hospital, Noarlunga Private Hospital, Council offices, Accolade Wines, Geoff Merrill Wines, St Francis Winery, Noarlunga Leisure Centre, O’Sullivan Beach Sports Centre, The Arts Centre, Morphett Vale Miniature Railway, The Vines Golf Club of Reynella, Thaxted Park Golf Club, Port Noarlunga Golf Driving Range, Adelaide Desalination Plant, the former Port Stanvac Oil Refinery, Christies Beach Wastewater Treatment Plant, Lonsdale Waste & Recycling Depot, the parklands along Christie Creek, Lakeside Leisure Park, Bice Oval, Hickinbotham Oval (Noarlunga Oval), James Reynell Heritage Park, Reynella Oval, Wilfred Taylor Reserve, Christie Downs Community House, Hackham West Community Centre, Woodcroft/Morphett Vale Neighbourhood Centre, Christies Creek Trail, the Coast to Vines Rail Trail and numerous schools.

Included areas

Central North District encompasses the suburbs and localities of Christie Downs, Christies Beach, Hackham, Hackham West, Huntfield Heights, Lonsdale, Morphett Vale, Noarlunga Centre, Noarlunga Downs, O'Sullivan Beach, Old Reynella, Port Noarlunga, Reynella and Woodcroft.