City of MaroondahCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Maroondah

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Maroondah (+1,912) was from Whitehorse (C), whilst the highest net loss (-1,397) was to Yarra Ranges (S).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Maroondah is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Maroondah's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Maroondah - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Whitehorse (C)3,1161,204+1,912
Manningham (C)1,9261,221+705
Boroondara (C)756408+348
Monash (C)598264+334
Knox (C)2,4332,193+240
Glen Eira (C)19296+96
Stonnington (C)192129+63
Banyule (C)269210+59
Greater Dandenong (C)156108+48
Nillumbik (S)262230+32
Hume (C)8358+25
Hornsby (A)240+24
West Torrens (C)213+18
Mildura (RC)3417+17
Newcastle (C)226+16
Wollongong (C)226+16
Hobsons Bay (C)5743+14
Salisbury (C)207+13
Campbelltown (C)120+12
Launceston (C)2210+12
Holroyd (C)120+12
The Hills Shire (A)186+12
Burnside (C)110+11
Hobart (C)133+10
Coffs Harbour (C)2010+10
Ashfield (A)90+9
Blacktown (C)2718+9
Kogarah (C)90+9
Wyong (A)189+9
Meander Valley (M)123+9
Gawler (T)90+9
Mitcham (C)2112+9
Tea Tree Gully (C)2112+9
Bundaberg (R)1810+8
Ryde (C)114+7
Maitland (C)70+7
Auburn (C)103+7
Bankstown (C)93+6
Rockdale (C)93+6
Urana (A)60+6
Tamworth Regional (A)60+6
Moonee Valley (C)9690+6
Unley (C)93+6
Yorke Peninsula (DC)60+6
Belmont (C)60+6
Glenorchy (C)93+6
Roebourne (S)83+5
Ararat (RC)1813+5
Queanbeyan (C)94+5
Campbelltown (C)139+4
Canada Bay (A)73+4
Melville (C)139+4
Roper Gulf (S)73+4
Huon Valley (M)63+3
Victoria Park (T)96+3
Rockhampton (R)96+3
Armidale Dumaresq (A)63+3
Griffith (C)63+3
Singleton (A)63+3
Wagga Wagga (C)129+3
Mackay (R)129+3
Loddon (S)64+2
Gannawarra (S)64+2
Darebin (C)208206+2
Sydney (C)2422+2
Randwick (C)86+2
Playford (C)64+2
Kingborough (M)1918+1
Palmerston (C)109+1
Parramatta (C)1918+1
Sutherland Shire (A)1110+1
Leichhardt (A)109+1
Lismore (C)98+1
Liverpool (C)990
Hurstville (C)660
Hindmarsh (S)990
Wodonga (RC)22220
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)16160
Bayswater (C)10100
Canning (C)990
Charles Sturt (C)660
Onkaparinga (C)911-2
Cockburn (C)68-2
Burnie (C)46-2
Clarence (C)911-2
Eurobodalla (A)68-2
Marrickville (A)46-2
Murray (A)36-3
Ku-ring-gai (A)912-3
Cessnock (C)36-3
Warringah (A)912-3
Bayside (C)6972-3
Gympie (R)36-3
Devonport (C)36-3
Harvey (S)36-3
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)912-3
Southern Grampians (S)1014-4
Toowoomba (R)913-4
Litchfield (M)913-4
Unincorporated NT610-4
Penrith (C)610-4
Byron (A)913-4
Ipswich (C)1520-5
Logan (C)2328-5
Moreland (C)182187-5
Swan Hill (RC)712-5
Horsham (RC)611-5
Gosnells (C)611-5
Tatiara (DC)06-6
Armadale (C)06-6
Waratah/Wynyard (M)39-6
Swan (C)612-6
No usual address (WA)06-6
Leonora (S)06-6
Queenscliffe (B)06-6
Gladstone (R)39-6
Yarriambiack (S)06-6
Corowa Shire (A)915-6
Albury (C)1218-6
Ballina (A)39-6
Greater Hume Shire (A)06-6
Strathfield (A)06-6
Willoughby (C)39-6
Woollahra (A)06-6
Benalla (RC)1118-7
Cairns (R)3138-7
Indigo (S)1724-7
Vincent (T)07-7
Central Coast (M)07-7
No usual address (NT)07-7
Bunbury (C)310-7
Joondalup (C)1725-8
Alice Springs (T)614-8
Nambucca (A)08-8
North Sydney (A)09-9
Lake Macquarie (C)1928-9
Colac-Otway (S)716-9
Glenelg (S)09-9
Northern Grampians (S)09-9
West Tamar (M)615-9
Perth (C)09-9
Broome (S)615-9
Mount Barker (DC)09-9
Golden Plains (S)616-10
Corangamite (S)010-10
Port Phillip (C)152163-11
Moyne (S)1021-11
Mandurah (C)011-11
Northern Midlands (M)012-12
Marion (C)315-12
No usual address (Qld)012-12
Towong (S)012-12
Kingston (C)141153-12
Gosford (C)315-12
Blue Mountains (C)012-12
Maribyrnong (C)5366-13
Townsville (C)2236-14
Port Hedland (T)014-14
Berrigan (A)823-15
Kempsey (A)016-16
Greater Shepparton (C)3349-16
Moorabool (S)1027-17
Fraser Coast (R)1532-17
Clarence Valley (A)017-17
Tweed (A)421-17
Darwin (C)2239-17
Redland (C)926-17
Warrnambool (C)1535-20
Murrindindi (S)81101-20
Wangaratta (RC)2950-21
Brimbank (C)5172-21
Bega Valley (A)022-22
South Gippsland (S)3557-22
Mount Alexander (S)628-22
Hepburn (S)325-22
Moira (S)2851-23
Wanneroo (C)1437-23
Central Goldfields (S)731-24
Moreton Bay (R)5682-26
Rockingham (C)632-26
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)029-29
Unincorporated ACT77107-30
Alpine (S)435-31
Yarra (C)190221-31
Mansfield (S)1850-32
Melton (S)3972-33
Strathbogie (S)639-33
Wellington (S)3368-35
Stirling (C)742-35
Macedon Ranges (S)1450-36
No usual address (Vic.)2158-37
Latrobe (C)4685-39
Brisbane (C)91132-41
Surf Coast (S)2468-44
Melbourne (C)145204-59
Mitchell (S)362-59
Wyndham (C)82149-67
Campaspe (S)1683-67
Baw Baw (S)2289-67
Ballarat (C)21105-84
Gold Coast (C)80173-93
East Gippsland (S)26119-93
Greater Bendigo (C)54150-96
Greater Geelong (C)79184-105
Frankston (C)133244-111
Sunshine Coast (R)51167-116
Whittlesea (C)86232-146
Bass Coast (S)35185-150
Cardinia (S)116371-255
Mornington Peninsula (S)130467-337
Casey (C)317676-359
Yarra Ranges (S)3,8155,212-1,397
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.