City of BrimbankCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Sydenham District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Sydenham District is 48,648, with a population density of 16.31 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Sydenham District is bounded by Thompsons Road and Jacksons Creek in the north, the Maribyrnong River, the Calder Freeway, Sunshine Avenue, a line running continuous of Lady Nelson Way and Taylors Creek in the east, Green Gully Road and Taylors Road in the south and the City of Melton municipal boundary, Hume Drive, Burnley Grove, Bungarim Wynd, Southbank Walk, the City of Melton municipal boundary, the Melton Highway, Calder Park Drive and the Melbourne-Bendigo railway line in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the mid 1800s, with land used mainly for farming. Significant development did not occur until the 1970s, with more substantial growth in the 1980s. Rapid growth took place in the 1990s as large numbers of new dwellings were added to the area. Growth began to slow between 2001 and 2006, with relative stability in population between 2006 and 2011, a result of few new dwellings being added to the area and a decline in the average number of persons living in each dwelling.

Land use

Sydenham District is a relatively recent residential area, with substantial industrial and commercial areas.

Major features

Major features of the area include Calder Park Motorsport Complex, Watergardens Town Centre, Centro Keilor Shopping Centre, Delahey Village Shopping Centre, Taylors Lakes Shopping Centre, Aqua Gardens Shopping Centre, Keilor Public Golf Course, St Albans Leisure Centre, the Broadcast Australia Radio Masts, Organ Pipes National Park, the proposed Sydenham Park, Delahey Recreation Reserve, Green Gully Reserve, Sydenham Reserve, Taylors Lakes, Delahey Community Centre, Keilor Downs Community Centre, Sydenham Community Centre, the Watergardens railway station and numerous schools.

Included areas

Sydenham District includes the suburbs of Calder Park, Delahey, Keilor Downs, Keilor North and Sydenham, the City of Brimbank part of the suburb of Hillside, and parts of the suburbs of Keilor Lodge and Taylors Lakes.