City of BrimbankCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Sunshine District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Sunshine District is 50,395, with a population density of 16.63 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Sunshine District is bounded by the Western Ring Road and the Maribyrnong River in the north, Burke Street, Duke Street, Stony Creek, Sunshine Road and the Sydenham railway line in the east, Geelong Road, Kororoit Creek and Boundary Road in the south and the Western Ring Road in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1840s. Growth took place in the Sunshine township in the 1870s and 1880s, aided by the opening of the railway station, with the railway junction attracting industry and population. Industrial and residential expansion continued in the early 1900s, spurred by the establishment of the Sunshine Harvester Works. Significant development occurred during the post-war years, aided by immigration. The population was relatively stable between 1991 and 2006, and then increased slightly between 2006 and 2011 as new dwellings were added to the area.

Land use

Sunshine District is an established residential and industrial area, with substantial commercial areas.

Major features

Major features of the area include Victoria University (Sunshine Campus), Sunshine Marketplace Shopping Centre, Sunshine Plaza Shopping Centre, The Avenue Shopping Centre, Sunshine Leisure Centre, Council offices, Albion Community Centre, West Sunshine Community Centre, the Melbourne Knights Soccer Ground, Ainsworth Reserve, Ardeer Community Park, Ardeer Reserve, Arthur Beachley Reserve, Barclay Reserve, Buckingham Reserve, Carrington Drive Reserve, Castley Reserve, Chaplin Reserve, Dalton Street Reserve, Dempster Park, H V McKay Gardens, J.R. Parsons Reserve, K Wheelahan Gardens, Matthew Hill Reserve, More Park, Norm Talintyre Reserve, Ralph Reserve, Sunshine Park, Selwyn Park, Polish Sports & Recreation Complex, Croatian Catholic Centre, the Ardeer and Sunshine railway stations and numerous schools.

Included areas

Sunshine District includes the suburbs of Albion, Ardeer, Sunshine, Sunshine North and Sunshine West, and the City of Brimbank part of the suburb of Brooklyn.