Liverpool City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Liverpool City

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to Liverpool City (+2,183) was from Fairfield (C), whilst the highest net loss (-1,404) was to Camden (A).

The age structure of people who move into and out of Liverpool City is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding Liverpool City's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Liverpool City - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Fairfield (C)6,0773,894+2,183
Bankstown (C)2,6751,318+1,357
Canterbury (C)1,084405+679
Rockdale (C)614368+246
Hurstville (C)479252+227
Botany Bay (C)23988+151
Auburn (C)383245+138
Kogarah (C)210155+55
Parramatta (C)506465+41
Marrickville (A)202183+19
Hume (C)5335+18
Walgett (A)150+15
Greater Dandenong (C)239+14
Melville (C)218+13
Burwood (A)9178+13
Salisbury (C)2815+13
Bundaberg (R)4330+13
Palmerston (C)7057+13
West Torrens (C)153+12
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)4131+10
Hobart (C)123+9
Campbelltown (C)90+9
Randwick (C)228220+8
Marion (C)2316+7
Benalla (RC)70+7
Kingston (C)136+7
Horsham (RC)70+7
Nillumbik (S)70+7
Tea Tree Gully (C)158+7
Warrumbungle Shire (A)93+6
Frankston (C)159+6
Unley (C)60+6
Forbes (A)60+6
Inverell (A)93+6
Wangaratta (RC)60+6
Litchfield (M)93+6
Campaspe (S)60+6
Whyalla (C)60+6
Warringah (A)7368+5
Pittwater (A)2419+5
Clarence (C)1813+5
Launceston (C)1611+5
Derwent Valley (M)73+4
Upper Hunter Shire (A)73+4
Port Phillip (C)139+4
Byron (A)95+4
Broome (S)73+4
Dubbo (C)3026+4
Capel (S)63+3
Moree Plains (A)63+3
Devonport (C)63+3
Wanneroo (C)2825+3
Ballarat (C)96+3
Cardinia (S)63+3
Central Coast (M)63+3
Melbourne (C)1210+2
Hunters Hill (A)1715+2
Playford (C)2321+2
Maribyrnong (C)660
Tumut Shire (A)660
Albury (C)25250
Lithgow (C)12120
Maroondah (C)990
Unincorporated NT660
Cassowary Coast (R)660
Kingborough (M)660
Knox (C)1415-1
Gloucester (A)67-1
Glen Eira (C)67-1
Moreland (C)1819-1
Tamworth Regional (A)2728-1
Joondalup (C)1820-2
Broken Hill (C)810-2
Cowra (A)1012-2
Manly (A)79-2
Southern Downs (R)1012-2
Melton (S)1921-2
Moorabool (S)36-3
Ashfield (A)8487-3
Waratah/Wynyard (M)36-3
Kyogle (A)36-3
Darebin (C)69-3
Bellingen (A)36-3
Banyule (C)3639-3
Parkes (A)1215-3
Yarra (C)36-3
Upper Lachlan Shire (A)36-3
Willoughby (C)2529-4
Darwin (C)6872-4
Tablelands (R)1115-4
Mildura (RC)1519-4
Leeton (A)812-4
Mosman (A)1217-5
Glenorchy (C)813-5
Singleton (A)2935-6
Buloke (S)06-6
Surf Coast (S)06-6
Gympie (R)06-6
Junee (A)06-6
Fremantle (C)06-6
Yarra Ranges (S)1622-6
Loxton Waikerie (DC)06-6
Isaac (R)06-6
Coolamon (A)06-6
Hepburn (S)06-6
Alexandrina (DC)06-6
Bourke (A)06-6
Armidale Dumaresq (A)1824-6
Yarriambiack (S)06-6
Boroondara (C)612-6
Alice Springs (T)06-6
Gunnedah (A)06-6
Deniliquin (A)06-6
Blayney (A)06-6
Stonnington (C)612-6
Greater Shepparton (C)1824-6
Harvey (S)06-6
Manningham (C)612-6
Strathbogie (S)06-6
Snowy River (A)39-6
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)06-6
Western Downs (R)06-6
Oberon (A)613-7
Wentworth (A)07-7
Greater Bendigo (C)815-7
Whitsunday (R)613-7
Murrumbidgee (A)07-7
Berrigan (A)310-7
Belmont (C)310-7
Muswellbrook (A)310-7
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)07-7
Kalamunda (S)916-7
Port Hedland (T)07-7
Swan Hill (RC)07-7
Cobar (A)07-7
Balranald (A)08-8
Wellington (A)412-8
South Perth (C)08-8
Armadale (C)09-9
Mitcham (C)615-9
Moonee Valley (C)918-9
Mornington Peninsula (S)1019-9
Perth (C)09-9
Gladstone (R)615-9
Greater Geelong (C)1323-10
South Burnett (R)313-10
Narrandera (A)010-10
Cabonne (A)919-10
Swan (C)919-10
Hinchinbrook (S)011-11
Rockhampton (R)1425-11
Monash (C)718-11
Lismore (C)1425-11
Cockburn (C)920-11
Brimbank (C)4051-11
Hobsons Bay (C)315-12
Latrobe (C)315-12
No usual address (Qld)012-12
Mount Isa (C)618-12
Canning (C)619-13
Bayswater (C)316-13
Yass Valley (A)013-13
Ballina (A)1427-13
Mount Barker (DC)013-13
Adelaide Hills (DC)013-13
Young (A)923-14
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)722-15
Charles Sturt (C)318-15
Nambucca (A)621-15
Gosnells (C)1025-15
Tumbarumba (A)015-15
Casey (C)3348-15
Woollahra (A)1026-16
Whitehorse (C)016-16
Somerset (R)016-16
Bega Valley (A)1026-16
Griffith (C)421-17
Roebourne (S)724-17
Toowoomba (R)3552-17
Scenic Rim (R)018-18
Nedlands (C)1129-18
Waverley (A)4363-20
Lane Cove (A)1636-20
Cootamundra (A)021-21
Mitchell (S)1335-22
Kiama (A)1234-22
Palerang (A)629-23
Onkaparinga (C)629-23
Lockyer Valley (R)832-24
Mandurah (C)024-24
Eurobodalla (A)3359-26
Cessnock (C)329-26
Maitland (C)1744-27
Kempsey (A)1239-27
Stirling (C)2249-27
North Sydney (A)2654-28
Tweed (A)2351-28
Ryde (C)108137-29
Clarence Valley (A)1342-29
Ku-ring-gai (A)3464-30
Mid-Western Regional (A)1848-30
Bathurst Regional (A)3363-30
Greater Taree (C)1849-31
Newcastle (C)3873-35
No usual address (NSW)1651-35
Mackay (R)743-36
Hawkesbury (C)61100-39
Coffs Harbour (C)3372-39
Fraser Coast (R)1858-40
Redland (C)950-41
Wagga Wagga (C)3275-43
Great Lakes (A)2164-43
Queanbeyan (C)1761-44
Rockingham (C)1561-46
Cairns (R)1360-47
Orange (C)1865-47
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)1564-49
Wodonga (RC)3887-49
Blue Mountains (C)66116-50
Shellharbour (C)70120-50
Port Stephens (A)2879-51
Whittlesea (C)1365-52
Wingecarribee (A)4497-53
Hornsby (A)75129-54
Wyndham (C)3491-57
Blacktown (C)663724-61
Strathfield (A)91153-62
Townsville (C)188261-73
Leichhardt (A)46120-74
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)38117-79
Lake Macquarie (C)59138-79
Holroyd (C)400481-81
Sunshine Coast (R)38123-85
Ipswich (C)41128-87
Canada Bay (A)130232-102
Gosford (C)95200-105
Logan (C)44162-118
Sydney (C)241364-123
Wollongong (C)178340-162
Moreton Bay (R)117287-170
Penrith (C)568745-177
Shoalhaven (C)113296-183
The Hills Shire (A)146362-216
Unincorporated ACT99326-227
Sutherland Shire (A)643873-230
Brisbane (C)153408-255
Wyong (A)87345-258
Gold Coast (C)133467-334
Wollondilly (A)157604-447
Campbelltown (C)1,9582,552-594
Camden (A)5411,945-1,404
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.