RDA Limestone Coast RegionCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Limestone Coast region

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the Limestone Coast region (+58) was from Logan (C), whilst the highest net loss (-144) was to Adelaide (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the Limestone Coast region is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the Limestone Coast region's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Limestone Coast region - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Logan (C)7113+58
Tumby Bay (DC)460+46
Salisbury (C)160119+41
Moira (S)340+34
Mildura (RC)6231+31
Wakefield (DC)4211+31
Albany (C)6030+30
Loxton Waikerie (DC)3911+28
The Coorong (DC)10173+28
Onkaparinga (C)335309+26
Berri and Barmera (DC)6338+25
Glenelg (S)178154+24
Yarra Ranges (S)296+23
Alice Springs (T)5331+22
Yorke Peninsula (DC)5132+19
Port Augusta (C)3415+19
Adelaide Hills (DC)9980+19
East Gippsland (S)213+18
West Wimmera (S)9780+17
Murray Bridge (RC)125109+16
Streaky Bay (DC)226+16
Renmark Paringa (DC)2812+16
Barkly (S)150+15
Huon Valley (M)150+15
Tumut Shire (A)150+15
Wudinna (DC)150+15
Yarriambiack (S)216+15
Goyder (DC)184+14
Peterborough (DC)140+14
Campbelltown (C)130+13
Whyalla (C)4633+13
Broken Hill (C)207+13
Moreland (C)196+13
Coober Pedy (DC)186+12
Corangamite (S)186+12
Greater Shepparton (C)3018+12
Hindmarsh (S)2412+12
Unincorporated NT100+10
Somerset (R)100+10
Mid-Western Regional (A)144+10
Brimbank (C)155+10
Greater Hume Shire (A)90+9
Campaspe (S)123+9
Horsham (RC)4839+9
Circular Head (M)90+9
Bass Coast (S)90+9
Southern Midlands (M)90+9
Greater Dandenong (C)90+9
Gosford (C)90+9
Northern Areas (DC)2112+9
Ku-ring-gai (A)90+9
Wollondilly (A)90+9
Melbourne (C)179+8
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)3325+8
Wyong (A)103+7
Coffs Harbour (C)136+7
Walgett (A)70+7
Blacktown (C)70+7
Parramatta (C)70+7
Mount Remarkable (DC)136+7
Central Highlands (R)60+6
Ryde (C)60+6
Bourke (A)60+6
Fairfield (C)60+6
Singleton (A)60+6
Camden (A)60+6
Central Darling (A)93+6
Leichhardt (A)60+6
Bayswater (C)60+6
Monash (C)159+6
Murray (S)60+6
Hay (A)60+6
Central Goldfields (S)93+6
Bega Valley (A)126+6
Ashburton (S)93+6
Central Coast (M)60+6
Meander Valley (M)60+6
Canning (C)60+6
Burnie (C)60+6
Lachlan (A)60+6
Maroondah (C)93+6
Katherine (T)1812+6
Southern Mallee (DC)2419+5
Moyne (S)2015+5
Knox (C)1712+5
Elliston (DC)94+5
South Gippsland (S)95+4
Northern Grampians (S)1814+4
Yankalilla (DC)1612+4
Swan Hill (RC)1612+4
Bayside (C)73+4
Liverpool (C)73+4
Cessnock (C)63+3
Armadale (C)63+3
Mid Murray (DC)3330+3
Derby-West Kimberley (S)63+3
Latrobe (C)2118+3
MacDonnell (S)63+3
Whitsunday (R)1512+3
Berrigan (A)63+3
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)129+3
Serpentine-Jarrahdale (S)63+3
Cleve (DC)96+3
Hepburn (S)63+3
Redland (C)107+3
Tweed (A)129+3
Banyule (C)96+3
Latrobe (M)96+3
Augusta-Margaret River (S)64+2
Devonport (C)64+2
Hume (C)1513+2
Harvey (S)86+2
Cardinia (S)1211+1
Moorabool (S)109+1
Busselton (S)65+1
Dorset (M)990
Playford (C)1021020
Campbelltown (C)56560
Gladstone (R)12120
Lake Macquarie (C)12120
Western Downs (R)660
Esperance (S)660
Tea Tree Gully (C)114115-1
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)1516-1
Stonnington (C)1516-1
Moreton Bay (R)3941-2
Golden Plains (S)46-2
Kingston (C)1012-2
Walkerville (M)69-3
Kalamunda (S)36-3
Mallala (DC)912-3
Wangaratta (RC)36-3
Casey (C)1518-3
Glenorchy (C)36-3
Litchfield (M)69-3
Glen Eira (C)69-3
Barunga West (DC)69-3
Lockyer Valley (R)36-3
Gannawarra (S)36-3
Sydney (C)47-3
Kentish (M)36-3
Boroondara (C)912-3
Murray (A)36-3
Northern Midlands (M)37-4
Frankston (C)610-4
Greater Bendigo (C)3135-4
Gawler (T)3539-4
Bunbury (C)913-4
Indigo (S)48-4
Wagga Wagga (C)1216-4
Mornington Peninsula (S)1822-4
Yarra (C)913-4
Perth (C)38-5
Hobsons Bay (C)1823-5
Fraser Coast (R)1924-5
Break O'Day (M)813-5
Ceduna (DC)49-5
Nedlands (C)06-6
South Perth (C)06-6
Roebourne (S)39-6
Leeton (A)06-6
Shoalhaven (C)06-6
Wellington (S)39-6
Snowy River (A)06-6
Macedon Ranges (S)915-6
Coolgardie (S)06-6
Mansfield (S)06-6
Hawkesbury (C)39-6
East Pilbara (S)06-6
Pyrenees (S)06-6
Surf Coast (S)06-6
No usual address (NSW)39-6
Unincorporated SA39-6
No usual address (NT)06-6
Roper Gulf (S)06-6
Belmont (C)06-6
Corowa Shire (A)39-6
Moonee Valley (C)915-6
No usual address (Vic.)39-6
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)2633-7
Maribyrnong (C)07-7
Gympie (R)1219-7
Oberon (A)07-7
Flinders (S)07-7
Greater Taree (C)310-7
Merredin (S)07-7
Central Desert (S)07-7
Dalwallinu (S)08-8
Glamorgan/Spring Bay (M)08-8
Irwin (S)08-8
Isaac (R)311-8
South Burnett (R)08-8
No usual address (WA)08-8
George Town (M)08-8
Broome (S)614-8
Ballina (A)09-9
Unincorporated ACT1928-9
Townsville (C)4655-9
Swan (C)09-9
Strathbogie (S)09-9
Flinders Ranges (DC)09-9
Darebin (C)918-9
Mandurah (C)615-9
Leonora (S)09-9
Deniliquin (A)09-9
Eurobodalla (A)09-9
Rockhampton (R)1727-10
Port Lincoln (C)2737-10
Vincent (T)010-10
Stirling (C)1222-10
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)010-10
Bundaberg (R)1728-11
Mitchell (S)011-11
Albury (C)1021-11
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)011-11
Wodonga (RC)314-11
Launceston (C)315-12
Melton (S)1830-12
Wentworth (A)618-12
Towong (S)012-12
Clarence (C)013-13
Copper Coast (DC)2134-13
Wollongong (C)014-14
Light (RegC)2135-14
Joondalup (C)1024-14
Gosnells (C)318-15
Greater Geraldton924-15
Geraldton-Greenough (C)924-15
Whittlesea (C)1025-15
Warrumbungle Shire (A)015-15
Wanneroo (C)622-16
Port Phillip (C)319-16
Port Hedland (T)016-16
Wakool (A)016-16
Capel (S)319-16
Colac-Otway (S)1532-17
Whitehorse (C)623-17
Wyndham (C)1835-17
Toowoomba (R)1331-18
Roxby Downs (M)625-19
Ipswich (C)424-20
Ararat (RC)021-21
Ballarat (C)2042-22
Palmerston (C)2549-24
Southern Grampians (S)5985-26
No usual address (SA)1845-27
Cairns (R)2858-30
Gold Coast (C)2254-32
Darwin (C)3166-35
Mackay (R)944-35
Rockingham (C)1350-37
Mount Barker (DC)87127-40
Prospect (C)2569-44
Barossa (DC)1559-44
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)145192-47
Unley (C)48100-52
Greater Geelong (C)2987-58
Warrnambool (C)3392-59
Brisbane (C)2283-61
Holdfast Bay (C)60124-64
Victor Harbor (C)2795-68
Sunshine Coast (R)1887-69
Charles Sturt (C)122192-70
Burnside (C)43119-76
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)80159-79
Marion (C)158244-86
Alexandrina (DC)64162-98
West Torrens (C)69169-100
Mitcham (C)87219-132
Adelaide (C)36180-144
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in profile.id by .id , the population experts.