RDA Limestone Coast RegionCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Tatiara District Council area

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Tatiara District Council area is 6,871, with a population density of 0.01 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Tatiara District Council area is located in the Limestone Coast Region of South Australia, about 200 kilometres south-east of the Adelaide CBD. The Tatiara District Council area is bounded by the Southern Mallee District Council area in the north, the Victorian border and West Wimmera Shire in the east, the Naracoorte Lucindale Council area in the south, and the Kingston District Council area and the Coorong District Council area in the west.

Name origin

The Tatiara District Council area is named from an Aboriginal word meaning “good country”.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1846, with land used initially for grazing. The township of Bordertown was established in 1852. Considerable growth took place from the 1870s to the early 1900s when several other townships were established, aided by the opening of the railway line in the 1880s and wheat growing. Population growth took place during the post-war years, spurred by the soldier settlement scheme at Padthaway and the AMP Insurance Company’s funding of development to convert bushland into farmland at Bordertown and Keith. Several wineries were established in and around Padthaway from the 1960s. The population fluctuated slightly during the 1990s, and then declined slightly from about 6,800 in 2001 to about 6,500 in 2011.

Land use

The Tatiara District Council area is predominantly rural, with small townships at Bordertown and Keith, and villages at Mundulla, Padthaway and Wolseley. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 6,500 square kilometres. Rural land is used largely for agricultural and pastoral purposes, particularly grain growing and sheep, cattle and pig farming, with some viticulture.


The Tatiara District Council area is served by the Dukes Highway, the Ngarkat Highway and the Riddoch Highway.

Major features

Major features of the Council area include Aberdour Conservation Park, Bangham Conservation Park, Gum Lagoon Conservation Park, Hardings Springs Conservation Reserve, Mount Monster Conservation Park, Mount Shaugh Conservation Park, Ngarkat Conservation Park, Padthaway Conservation Park, Pine Hill Soak Conservation Park, Wolseley Common Conservation Park, Poocher Swamp Game Reserve, numerous wineries, Tatiara Civic Centre, Clayton Farm Heritage Museum, Keith Early Settler’s Cottage, Teatrick Lavender Estate, TAFE SA (Bordertown Campus), Bordertown Memorial Hospital, Keith & District Hospital, Bordertown Golf Club, Keith Golf Club, Padthaway Golf Club, Tolmer Speedway, Bordertown Racecourse, Bordertown Showground, Bordertown Wildlife Park, Bowman Park, Don Moseley Memorial Playground, Keith Showground, Mundulla Oval, Padthaway Apex Park, Tatiara Memorial Park, Tolmer Park, Virgo Park, Moot Yang Gunya Swamp and Bordertown Recreation Lake.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Tatiara District Council area were the Cannawigra, Tatiara and Wirrega Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Tatiara District Council area includes the localities of Bangham, Bordertown, Bordertown South, Brimbago, Buckingham, Cannawigara, Carew, Custon, Keith, Kongal, Laffer, Lowan Vale, Makin, McCallum, Mount Charles, Mundulla, Mumdulla West, Ngarkat (part), Padthaway, Petherick, Pine Hill, Pooginagoric, Senior, Shaugh, Sherwood, Swede Flat, Western Flat, Willalooka, Wirrega and Wolseley.