City of MeltonCommunity profile
Skip to content

City of Melton

SEIFA - disadvantage by Local Government Area

In 2011, the City of Melton scored 1,002.1 on the SEIFA Index of Disadvantage.

The City of Melton SEIFA Index of Disadvantage measures the relative level of socio-economic disadvantage based on a range of Census characteristics. It is a good place to start to get a general view of the relative level of disadvantage in one area compared to others and is used to advocate for an area based on its level of disadvantage.

The index is derived from attributes that reflect disadvantage such as low income, low educational attainment, high unemployment, and jobs in relatively unskilled occupations.  When targeting services to disadvantaged communities, it is important to also look at these underlying characteristics as they can differ markedly between areas with similar SEIFA scores and shed light on the type of disadvantage being experienced.

A higher score on the index means a lower level of disadvantage. A lower score on the index means a higher level of disadvantage.

Index of Relative Socio-economic Disadvantage
Local Government Areas in Victoria
Local Government Area2011 index
Banyule (C)1,047.4
Bayside (C)1,091.1
Boroondara (C)1,097.6
Cardinia (S)1,024.3
Casey (C)1,006.5
Glen Eira (C)1,069.4
Golden Plains (S)1,030.1
Indigo (S)1,009.8
Kingston (C)1,037.7
Knox (C)1,049.3
Macedon Ranges (S)1,055.1
Manningham (C)1,071.4
Mansfield (S)1,012.1
Maroondah (C)1,043.9
Melbourne (C)1,025.8
Monash (C)1,044.9
Moonee Valley (C)1,027.1
Moorabool (S)1,008.5
Mornington Peninsula (S)1,022.5
Moyne (S)1,017.3
Nillumbik (S)1,098.3
Port Phillip (C)1,065.7
Queenscliffe (B)1,053.2
Stonnington (C)1,083.7
Surf Coast (S)1,066.5
Whitehorse (C)1,051.2
Wyndham (C)1,013.4
Yarra (C)1,019.1
Yarra Ranges (S)1,037.1
Unincorporated Vic1,019.0
Melton (S)1,002.1
Alpine (S)986.9
Ararat (RC)950.5
Ballarat (C)980.8
Bass Coast (S)977.5
Baw Baw (S)998.1
Benalla (RC)957.2
Brimbank (C)925.8
Buloke (S)967.7
Campaspe (S)964.1
Central Goldfields (S)904.6
Colac-Otway (S)964.6
Corangamite (S)986.1
Darebin (C)990.3
East Gippsland (S)958.2
Frankston (C)996.7
Gannawarra (S)958.8
Glenelg (S)960.2
Greater Bendigo (C)983.1
Greater Dandenong (C)894.9
Greater Geelong (C)992.9
Greater Shepparton (C)951.9
Hepburn (S)979.6
Hindmarsh (S)946.6
Hobsons Bay (C)1,001.7
Horsham (RC)987.4
Hume (C)951.8
Latrobe (C)939.7
Loddon (S)934.1
Maribyrnong (C)974.0
Mildura (RC)935.0
Mitchell (S)996.1
Moira (S)952.4
Moreland (C)998.1
Mount Alexander (S)983.3
Murrindindi (S)997.2
Northern Grampians (S)937.6
Pyrenees (S)939.9
South Gippsland (S)999.5
Southern Grampians (S)994.5
Strathbogie (S)970.2
Swan Hill (RC)949.8
Towong (S)995.9
Wangaratta (RC)981.1
Warrnambool (C)988.6
Wellington (S)974.1
West Wimmera (S)985.6
Whittlesea (C)988.6
Wodonga (RC)974.7
Yarriambiack (S)952.4
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing 2011. Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.