City of MeltonCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content


About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Hillside is 16,789, with a population density of 21.49 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Hillside is bounded by the locality of Plumpton and the railway line in the north, Kanmore Crescent, Calder Park Drive, the Melton Highway and a line running north to south to the east of Ozzimo Drive in the east, a line running east to west to the north of Brunswick Grove in the south, and the locality of Fraser Rise and the transmission line in the west.

Name origin

Hillside is thought to be named after David Hill, an early farmer in the area.

Settlement history

Development of the area commenced in the late 1980s with the construction of the Sugar Gums and Bellevue Hill estates on Melton Highway. Rapid growth occurred from the early 1990s, with the population increasing from about 2,300 in 1996 to over 13,000 in 2006. Growth slowed between 2006 and 2011 as most land has now been developed, with development to the north constrained by flight paths from Melbourne Airport.

Land use

Hillside is a recent residential area.

Major features

Major features of the area include Banchory Grove Grassland Nature Conservation Reserve, Hillside Recreation Reserve, Banchory Green, Boronia Drive Reserve, Boronia Reserve, Freeman Link, Lachlans Field, Parkwood Green Reserve, Sugargum Reserve, The Outlook Reserve, Banchory Community Centre, Parkwood Green Community Centre and several schools.

Included areas

This area encompasses the City of Melton part of the suburb of Hillside, with the remaining part of the suburb located in the City of Brimbank.