City of BurnsideCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

City of Burnside

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Burnside (+72) was from Tea Tree Gully (C), whilst the highest net loss (-231) was to Campbelltown (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Burnside is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Burnside's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Burnside - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Tea Tree Gully (C)361289+72
Darwin (C)7932+47
Unley (C)839798+41
Prospect (C)178143+35
Charles Sturt (C)321292+29
Onkaparinga (C)203175+28
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)369+27
Yorke Peninsula (DC)3914+25
Willoughby (C)253+22
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)276+21
Whyalla (C)277+20
Mildura (RC)200+20
Berri and Barmera (DC)2910+19
Tatiara (DC)213+18
Loxton Waikerie (DC)2510+15
Broken Hill (C)216+15
Barossa (DC)4127+14
The Coorong (DC)174+13
Mallala (DC)120+12
Grant (DC)120+12
Fraser Coast (R)120+12
Whitsunday (R)153+12
Queanbeyan (C)120+12
Banyule (C)186+12
Roxby Downs (M)176+11
Wattle Range (DC)166+10
Mount Gambier (C)2616+10
Goyder (DC)166+10
Ryde (C)177+10
Maitland (C)123+9
West Wimmera (S)90+9
Belmont (C)90+9
Moreton Bay (R)2012+8
Port Lincoln (C)4032+8
Shoalhaven (C)70+7
Tweed (A)70+7
Greater Dandenong (C)70+7
Mansfield (S)70+7
Wanneroo (C)70+7
Launceston (C)70+7
Broome (S)60+6
Peppermint Grove (S)60+6
Greater Shepparton (C)60+6
Bayside (C)2317+6
Wollongong (C)60+6
Wentworth (A)60+6
Newcastle (C)159+6
Mitcham (C)558552+6
Rockhampton (R)93+6
Yarra Ranges (S)60+6
Townsville (C)1913+6
Murray Bridge (RC)2318+5
Warringah (A)116+5
Monash (C)1814+4
Leichhardt (A)2420+4
Ashfield (A)73+4
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)1,0371,033+4
Cottesloe (T)73+4
Mid Murray (DC)96+3
Mount Remarkable (DC)96+3
Tumby Bay (DC)74+3
Adelaide (C)347344+3
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)96+3
Redland (C)96+3
Burwood (A)85+3
Greater Bendigo (C)119+2
Greater Geelong (C)97+2
Kingston (DC)86+2
Playford (C)3533+2
Canning (C)1210+2
Alice Springs (T)1715+2
Hobart (C)2018+2
Renmark Paringa (DC)109+1
Frankston (C)76+1
North Sydney (A)2120+1
The Hills Shire (A)76+1
Marrickville (A)11110
Parramatta (C)990
Fremantle (C)660
East Fremantle (T)67-1
Northern Areas (DC)910-1
Light (RegC)68-2
Lake Macquarie (C)57-2
Blue Mountains (C)46-2
Bayswater (C)1012-2
Ashburton (S)36-3
Clarence (C)36-3
Victoria Park (T)36-3
Ballina (A)36-3
Manly (A)36-3
Randwick (C)2124-3
East Gippsland (S)36-3
Ballarat (C)36-3
Maribyrnong (C)69-3
Manningham (C)47-3
Port Augusta (C)1316-3
Brimbank (C)37-4
Holdfast Bay (C)130135-5
Copper Coast (DC)1722-5
No usual address (Qld)06-6
Moorabool (S)06-6
Mornington Peninsula (S)39-6
Hume (C)06-6
Knox (C)39-6
Mosman (A)1319-6
Wagga Wagga (C)06-6
Strathfield (A)39-6
Hornsby (A)1117-6
Hurstville (C)06-6
Bellingen (A)06-6
Melville (C)612-6
Nedlands (C)612-6
Katherine (T)06-6
Armadale (C)06-6
Joondalup (C)39-6
Perth (C)06-6
Rockingham (C)06-6
Port Stephens (A)07-7
Tablelands (R)07-7
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)1623-7
Yankalilla (DC)411-7
Unincorporated SA816-8
Woollahra (A)1321-8
Wingecarribee (A)09-9
Coolamon (A)09-9
Byron (A)09-9
Kogarah (C)09-9
Ku-ring-gai (A)1726-9
Lismore (C)09-9
West Torrens (C)259268-9
Wakefield (DC)312-9
Walkerville (M)9099-9
Cockburn (C)09-9
Mandurah (C)010-10
No usual address (SA)616-10
Gawler (T)1525-10
Palerang (A)010-10
Maroondah (C)011-11
Cairns (R)1627-11
Sunshine Coast (R)2233-11
Whittlesea (C)011-11
Yass Valley (A)012-12
Glen Eira (C)1224-12
Canada Bay (A)315-12
Darebin (C)621-15
Marion (C)180195-15
Subiaco (C)015-15
Victor Harbor (C)3249-17
Port Phillip (C)2847-19
Moonee Valley (C)019-19
Casey (C)020-20
Wyndham (C)323-20
Waverley (A)022-22
Boroondara (C)3560-25
Stirling (C)1136-25
Stonnington (C)2753-26
Whitehorse (C)1744-27
Adelaide Hills (DC)394422-28
Moreland (C)943-34
Yarra (C)1247-35
Alexandrina (DC)4995-46
Salisbury (C)126179-53
Mount Barker (DC)130190-60
Sydney (C)2182-61
Unincorporated ACT57126-69
Melbourne (C)1593-78
Gold Coast (C)390-87
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)343435-92
Brisbane (C)81177-96
Campbelltown (C)671902-231
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.