National Growth Areas AllianceCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

National Growth Areas Alliance (NGAA)

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for the National Growth Areas Alliance (NGAA) is 3,587,380, with a population density of 2.62 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The National Growth Areas Alliance (NGAA) is a collaboration of twenty-five Councils across Australia whose areas are experiencing rapid growth. Member Councils of the NGAA are located at the urban-rural interface of metropolitan areas, have significant greenfield future development areas, and are experiencing relatively rapid population and/or urban development growth.

Settlement history

The population of the NGAA area has increased rapidly since the early 1990s, rising from about 1.8 million in 1991 to almost 3.1 million in 2011. More than one quarter of Australia's population growth between 2001 and 2011 was in NGAA areas.

Included areas

The NGAA includes: New South Wales - Blacktown City Council, Camden Council, Campbelltown City Council, Liverpool City Council, Penrith City Council and Wollondilly Shire, Queensland - City of Ipswich and Logan City Council, South Australia - District Council of Mount Barker and City of Playford, Victoria - Cardinia Shire Council, City of Casey, Hume City Council, City of Melton, City of Whittlesea and City of Wyndham, and Western Australia - City of Armadale, City of Cockburn, City of Gosnells, City of Kwinana, City of Mandurah, City of Rockingham, Serpentine Jarrahdale Shire, City of Swan and City of Wanneroo.