National Growth Areas AllianceCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Shire of Mitchell

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Shire of Mitchell is 41,632, with a population density of 0.15 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Mitchell Shire is located in central Victoria, about 80 kilometres north of the Melbourne CBD. Mitchell Shire is bounded by the City of Greater Bendigo and Strathbogie Shire in the north, Murrindindi Shire in the east, the City of Whittlesea and Hume City in the south, and Macedon Ranges and Mount Alexander Shires in the west.

Name origin

Mitchell Shire was named after Major Thomas Mitchell, who explored large areas of New South Wales and Victoria in the 1830s.

Settlement history

European settlement of the area dates from the 1830s, with land used mainly for farming. Townships were established in Kilmore and Seymour in the 1840s. Growth was minimal until the 1860s. Considerable growth occurred during the late 1800s, aided by the gold rush, the opening of the railway line and the establishment of several businesses including timber industries. Some growth took place in the early 1900s. The most significant development occurred in the post-war years, especially from the 1980s, with the population growing by over 38% between 1981 and 1996. In recent years the Shire has been one of fastest growing municipalities in regional Victoria, with the population increasing from about 24,000 in 1991 to 27,000 in 2001, and then to about 34,000 in 2011. Growth has mainly been in the southern section of the Shire, closest to Melbourne, as more people have opted for living in rural-residential areas or the urban townships. Population growth is expected to continue in this area.

Land use

Mitchell Shire is predominantly a rural area but has substantial residential areas in the townships of Beveridge, Broadford, Heathcote Junction, Kilmore, Pyalong, Seymour, Tallarook, Tooborac, Wallan, Wandong, Waterford Park and the Puckapunyal Army Base. Seymour is the main business, industrial and population centre in the Shire, followed by Wallan, then Kilmore and Broadford. Most of the rural area is used for agricultural purposes, including beef and wool farming, forestry and timber production, viticulture, olive production and hobby farms. Mitchell Shire encompasses a total land area of nearly 2,900 square kilometres.


Mitchell Shire is serviced by the Hume Freeway, the Northern Highway and the Melbourne to Wodonga railway line.

Major features

Major features of the Shire include Kinglake National Park (water catchment area), Mount Disappointment State Forest, Tallarook State Forest, Trawool Valley, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE (Seymour Campus), Melbourne Tramway Museum, Puckapunyal Army Base, RAAC Memorial and Army Tank Museum (Puckapunyal), Seymour Railway Heritage Centre, Old Kilmore Gaol, State Motorcycle Sports Complex and various wineries.

Included areas

Mitchell Shire includes the townships and rural districts of Avenel (part), Beveridge (part), Broadford, Bylands (part), Clonbinane, Flowerdale (part), Forbes, Glenaroua, Glenhope, Glenhope East, Heathcote Junction, Heathcote South, High Camp, Highlands (part), Hilldene, Kilmore, Kilmore East, Mangalore (part), Mia Mia (part), Moranding, Northwood, Nulla Vale, Puckapunyal, Pyalong, Reedy Creek (part), Seymour, Sugarloaf Creek, Sunday Creek, Tallarook, Tarcombe (part), Tooborac, Trawool (part), Tyaak, Upper Plenty, Wallan, Wandong, Waterford Park, Whiteheads Creek and Willowmavin.