National Growth Areas AllianceCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

National Growth Areas Alliance (NGAA)

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for the National Growth Areas Alliance (NGAA) is 4,670,705, with a population density of 1.98 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The National Growth Areas Alliance (NGAA) is a collaboration of thirty-one Councils across Australia whose areas are experiencing rapid growth. Member Councils of the NGAA are located at the urban-rural interface of metropolitan areas, have significant greenfield future development areas, and are experiencing relatively rapid population and/or urban development growth.

Settlement history

The population of the NGAA area has increased rapidly since the early 1990s, rising from about 2.2 million in 1991 to about 3.8 million in 2011. About one-third of Australia's population growth between 2001 and 2011 was in NGAA areas.

Included areas

The NGAA includes: New South Wales - Blacktown City, Camden Council, Campbelltown City, Liverpool City, Penrith City, The Hills Shire and Wollondilly Shire, Northern Territory - Litchfield Council and City of Palmerston, Queensland - City of Ipswich, Logan City, Moreton Bay Regional Council and Redland City, South Australia - District Council of Mount Barker and City of Playford, Victoria - Cardinia Shire, City of Casey, Hume City, City of Melton, Mitchell Shire, City of Whittlesea and City of Wyndham, and Western Australia - City of Armadale, City of Cockburn, City of Gosnells, City of Kwinana, City of Mandurah, City of Rockingham, Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale, City of Swan and City of Wanneroo.