City of CaseyCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Casey Foothills

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Casey Foothills is 10,870, with a population density of 2.39 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Casey Foothills is bounded by the City of Knox, the Yarra Ranges Council area, Horswood Road and Boundary Road in the north, the Cardinia Creek in the east, Inglis Road, Gardiner Street, Harkaway Road, Ernst Wanke Road, Whistler Drive, Cambridge Drive, Hessell Road, the suburb of Narre Warren, Ernst Wanke Road, Troups Creek West Branch and the Monash Freeway in the south and Belgrave-Hallam Road, Hallam North Road and Churchill Park Drive in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1850s, with land used mainly for farming and cattle grazing. Gradual growth took place in the late 1800s. Narre Warren North is one of the oldest areas of settlement in the City of Casey, being the original Narre Warren township until the railway was constructed to the south. Significant development occurred from the late 1980s, with the population more than doubling between 1991 and 2011, a result of large numbers of new dwellings being added to the area, particularly in Narre Warren North.

Land use

Casey Foothills is a rural and rural-residential area, with increasing residential areas, and substantial parklands. Rural land is used mainly for grazing and horse agistment.

Major features

Major features of the area include Churchill National Park, Lysterfield Park, Lysterfield Lake, Campbelltown Miniature Passenger Railway, Harkaway Scout Camp, Harkaway Hall, Ackland Park, Bellbird Park, Dalton Reserve, Ivens Reserve, Jack Thomas Reserve, Jesse Trail Reserve, Kalora Park, Kurll Park, Narre North Recreation Reserve, Narre Warren North Recreation Ground and several schools.

Included areas

Casey Foothills encompasses the suburbs and localities of Harkaway, Lysterfield South and Narre Warren North, and the northern part of Berwick. The central and southern parts of the suburb of Berwick are included in the Berwick Township - Beaconsfield and Berwick (South) small areas respectively.