Cairns Regional CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Babinda - Rural South

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Babinda - Rural South is 4,199, with a population density of 0.04 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Babinda - Rural South includes a landbound section and numerous islands. The landbound section of Babinda - Rural South is bounded by the Coral Sea in the north, Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire and the Coral Sea in the east, the Cassowary Coast Regional Council area and the Tablelands Regional Council area in the south, and the localities of Goldsborough, Gordonvale, Wrights Creek, Mount Peter, Edmonton and Portsmith in the west.

Name origin

Babinda is named after Babinda Creek, which is thought to be named from an Aboriginal word meaning "where the water falls".

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1880s, with land used mainly for sugar cane growing. Growth took place during the early 1900s, particularly in the township of Babinda, spurred by the opening of the North Coast railway line and the establishment of a sugar mill. The population fluctuated slightly from the early 1990s, due to small changes in dwelling stock and the average number of persons living in each dwelling.

Land use

Babinda - Rural South is a rural and national park area to the south of Cairns, which includes urban areas in the township of Babinda and several smaller villages, and tourist areas on Fitzroy and Green Islands. Rural land is used mainly for sugar cane production, with some general farming.

Major features

Major features of the area include Fitzroy Island, Green Island, Frankland Islands (High Island, Mabel Island, Normanby Island, Round Island and Russell Island), Ella Bay National Park, Eubenangee Swamp National Park, Fitzroy Island National Park, Frankland Group National Park, Green Island National Park, Grey Peaks National Park, Russell River National Park, Wooroonooran National Park, Malbon Thompson Forest Reserve, Josephine Falls, Mount Bellenden Ker, Babinda Boulders, Babinda Hospital, Aloomba Community Hall, Babinda Community Centre, Babinda Memorial Hall, Bellendeen Ker Memorial Hall, Babinda Golf Club, Aloomba Sports Reserve, Anzac Park, Bill Wakeham Park, Carl Millick Park, Niven Park, Rotary Park, Babinda Swimming Pool, Bramston Beach, the Mulgrave River, the Russell River and numerous schools.

Included areas

Babinda - Rural South includes the localities of Aloomba, Babinda, Bartle Frere, Bellenden Ker, Bramston Beach, Deeral, East Russell, East Trinity, Fishery Falls, Fitzroy Island, Glen Boughton, Green Hill, Green Island, Mirriwinni, Packers Camp, Waugh Pocket, Woopen Creek and Wrights Creek, and the Cairns Regional Council area parts of the localities of Eubenangee, Ngatjan and Wooroonooran.