City of YarraCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

City of Yarra

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Yarra (+537) was from Melbourne (C), whilst the highest net loss (-1,603) was to Darebin (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Yarra is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Yarra's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Yarra - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Melbourne (C)1,9661,429+537
Brisbane (C)587350+237
Unincorporated ACT431222+209
Monash (C)439279+160
Manningham (C)521364+157
Knox (C)240107+133
Stonnington (C)1,062936+126
Hobart (C)17572+103
Gold Coast (C)18892+96
Vincent (T)11340+73
Sydney (C)240172+68
Casey (C)164114+50
Newcastle (C)7125+46
Unley (C)6825+43
Albury (C)7331+42
Leichhardt (A)8240+42
Nillumbik (S)236194+42
Whitehorse (C)616577+39
Adelaide (C)4912+37
Burnside (C)4712+35
Fremantle (C)6227+35
Stirling (C)10873+35
Byron (A)6732+35
Maroondah (C)221190+31
Wodonga (RC)4616+30
Greater Shepparton (C)6333+30
Mitcham (C)4313+30
Melville (C)5627+29
Launceston (C)4921+28
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)4417+27
Cambridge (T)3812+26
Marrickville (A)8256+26
Latrobe (C)6138+23
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)4118+23
Bayswater (C)4321+22
North Sydney (A)6442+22
Ryde (C)3716+21
Warringah (A)3615+21
Warrnambool (C)5332+21
Joondalup (C)309+21
Colac-Otway (S)3717+20
Lake Macquarie (C)3313+20
Randwick (C)7152+19
East Gippsland (S)4728+19
South Perth (C)3213+19
Victoria Park (T)3214+18
Darwin (C)8264+18
Subiaco (C)4628+18
Moyne (S)3315+18
Wagga Wagga (C)3012+18
Greater Bendigo (C)131114+17
Charles Sturt (C)3518+17
Kalamunda (S)193+16
Ku-ring-gai (A)3317+16
Manly (A)3116+15
Gosford (C)3217+15
Wollongong (C)3218+14
Woollahra (A)6450+14
Glenelg (S)217+14
South Gippsland (S)3218+14
Kingborough (M)2915+14
Prospect (C)218+13
Playford (C)130+13
Mildura (RC)2815+13
Lane Cove (A)130+13
Cooma-Monaro (A)120+12
Swan Hill (RC)219+12
Golden Plains (S)154+11
Willoughby (C)2918+11
Deniliquin (A)143+11
Blue Mountains (C)2716+11
Wangaratta (RC)3827+11
Mosman Park (T)154+11
Clarence (C)2514+11
Roebourne (S)100+10
East Fremantle (T)133+10
Sutherland Shire (A)2919+10
Pittwater (A)188+10
Lismore (C)2314+9
Hurstville (C)123+9
Greater Dandenong (C)130121+9
West Torrens (C)2213+9
Swan (C)2011+9
Mundaring (S)90+9
Marion (C)189+9
Salisbury (C)167+9
Rockhampton (R)146+8
Yarra Ranges (S)236228+8
Gosnells (C)80+8
Canning (C)2416+8
Claremont (T)2012+8
Horsham (RC)1810+8
Indigo (S)3123+8
Corangamite (S)124+8
Campaspe (S)3426+8
Eurobodalla (A)157+8
Rockdale (C)80+8
Strathfield (A)70+7
Griffith (C)70+7
Armidale Dumaresq (A)136+7
Ashfield (A)1912+7
Wellington (S)3629+7
Pyrenees (S)70+7
Rockingham (C)136+7
Bundaberg (R)70+7
Sunshine Coast (R)7063+7
West Tamar (M)70+7
Wanneroo (C)93+6
Katherine (T)93+6
Central Highlands (R)60+6
Fraser Coast (R)60+6
Tea Tree Gully (C)126+6
Denmark (S)60+6
Halls Creek (S)60+6
Wattle Range (DC)60+6
Cardinia (S)6761+6
Gannawarra (S)60+6
Bankstown (C)137+6
Shoalhaven (C)60+6
Snowy River (A)60+6
Northern Grampians (S)105+5
West Wimmera (S)83+5
Cockburn (C)1611+5
Bassendean (T)94+5
Perth (C)127+5
Holdfast Bay (C)2217+5
Toowoomba (R)138+5
Glenorchy (C)1611+5
Central Coast (M)73+4
Onkaparinga (C)2016+4
Canterbury (C)73+4
Hawkesbury (C)73+4
Kogarah (C)63+3
Greater Hume Shire (A)74+3
Liverpool (C)63+3
Coffs Harbour (C)2118+3
Berrigan (A)96+3
Auburn (C)96+3
Ballina (A)1714+3
Port Stephens (A)96+3
Penrith (C)74+3
Southern Grampians (S)1916+3
Moreton Bay (R)2623+3
Walkerville (M)63+3
Augusta-Margaret River (S)64+2
Cottesloe (T)119+2
Nedlands (C)2523+2
Central Goldfields (S)97+2
Strathbogie (S)1615+1
Corowa Shire (A)1110+1
Broome (S)98+1
Adelaide Hills (DC)1615+1
Meander Valley (M)990
Canada Bay (A)22220
Queanbeyan (C)770
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)67-1
Holroyd (C)78-1
Baw Baw (S)3435-1
Hornsby (A)1517-2
Cairns (R)4143-2
Ipswich (C)1013-3
Logan (C)69-3
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)47-3
Waratah/Wynyard (M)36-3
George Town (M)36-3
Murray (A)36-3
Tamworth Regional (A)36-3
Wyong (A)36-3
Towong (S)47-3
Moira (S)1316-3
Ballarat (C)149153-4
Loddon (S)37-4
Mosman (A)1115-4
Burwood (A)37-4
Burnie (C)37-4
Campbelltown (C)1015-5
Mount Gambier (C)49-5
Parramatta (C)49-5
Mid-Western Regional (A)06-6
Waverley (A)5056-6
The Hills Shire (A)915-6
Bellingen (A)06-6
Clarence Valley (A)39-6
Mitchell (S)2733-6
Queenscliffe (B)612-6
Mount Isa (C)06-6
Tablelands (R)06-6
Whitsunday (R)612-6
No usual address (SA)06-6
Litchfield (M)06-6
Roper Gulf (S)06-6
Victoria-Daly (S)06-6
Unincorporated NT06-6
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)07-7
Belmont (C)1219-7
Redland (C)310-7
Gladstone (R)07-7
Mansfield (S)1219-7
Alpine (S)1623-7
Murrindindi (S)1523-8
East Pilbara (S)08-8
Huon Valley (M)09-9
Yass Valley (A)09-9
No usual address (NSW)09-9
Tweed (A)1120-9
Bega Valley (A)1120-9
Alice Springs (T)1121-10
Moorabool (S)3243-11
Benalla (RC)011-11
Blacktown (C)012-12
Ararat (RC)618-12
Mandurah (C)012-12
Townsville (C)1333-20
Bass Coast (S)3656-20
Frankston (C)114134-20
Bayside (C)236268-32
Greater Geelong (C)317349-32
Mornington Peninsula (S)218257-39
Surf Coast (S)5698-42
No usual address (Vic.)2367-44
Port Phillip (C)935982-47
Hepburn (S)3077-47
Mount Alexander (S)51109-58
Boroondara (C)1,9622,022-60
Hume (C)94158-64
Kingston (C)159236-77
Melton (S)53141-88
Macedon Ranges (S)78168-90
Glen Eira (C)356447-91
Moonee Valley (C)356474-118
Hobsons Bay (C)124268-144
Whittlesea (C)184353-169
Wyndham (C)82340-258
Brimbank (C)195457-262
Banyule (C)545911-366
Maribyrnong (C)199686-487
Moreland (C)9572,054-1,097
Darebin (C)1,0452,648-1,603
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.