Western Sydney Regional Organisation of CouncilsCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Greater Western Sydney Region

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Greater Western Sydney Region is 2,232,661, with a population density of 2.50 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Greater Western Sydney is located in the western part of the Sydney metropolitan area. Greater Western Sydney comprises the area defined by the Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (WSROC) Region and the Macarthur Regional Organisation of Councils (MACROC) Region, and The Hills Shire. It also comprises three subregions defined within the NSW State Government’s Sydney Metropolitan Strategy: the North West, South West and West Central Subregions. Greater Western Sydney is bounded by the Singleton Council area and Cessnock City in the north, Gosford City, Hornsby Shire, the City of Ryde, the City of Canada Bay, the Strathfield Council area, Canterbury City, Hurstville City, Sutherland Shire and Wollongong City in the east, Wingecarribee Shire in the south, and Upper Lachlan Shire, the Oberon Council area and Lithgow City in the west.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1788 when the first farms were established. Gradual growth took place during the early 1800s, with land used mainly for timber-getting, sheep and cattle farming, crop farming and market gardening. Growth increased in the late 1800s and the early 1900s, spurred by the opening of railway lines, the establishment of many industries and tourism. Significant development occurred during the 1950s and 1960s, aided by immigration, industrial growth and the construction of public housing estates. Rapid growth continued during the 1970s and 1980s. The population continued to increase from the early 1990s, rising from under 1.5 million in 1991 to over 1.9 million in 2011. Much of the recent growth has been in major release areas in The Hills Shire and Blacktown and Liverpool Cities. In other areas growth has been largely from urban consolidation and infill development (medium and high density housing) or redevelopment of former industrial sites.

Land use

Greater Western Sydney has substantial residential, rural, industrial, commercial, institutional and military areas. Greater Western Sydney encompasses a total land area of about 6,300 square kilometres, including significant areas of national parks, waterways and parklands. The LGA with the largest population in Greater Western Sydney is Blacktown City, followed by Fairfield, Bankstown, Liverpool and Penrith Cities. Wollondilly Shire has the smallest population. Most of the rural land is used for agricultural purposes, including market gardens, orchards, dairy farms, poultry farms and grazing.


Greater Western Sydney is served by Westlink (M7), Hills Motorway (M2), Western Motorway (M4), South Western Motorway (M5), Cumberland Highway, Great Western Highway, Hume Highway, Bankstown Airport, Camden Airport, Katoomba airfield and numerous railway lines.

Major features

Major features of the area include various National Parks (Blue Mountains, Cattai, Georges River, Kanangra Boyd, Nattai, Scheyville, Thirlmere Lakes, Wollemi and Yengo), TAFE NSW South Western Sydney Institute, TAFE NSW Western Sydney Institute, The University of Sydney, University of Western Sydney, Elizabeth Macarthur Agricultural Institute, Richmond RAAF Base, Holsworthy Military Camp, Sydney Olympic Park, State Sports Centre, ANZ Stadium, Allphones Arena, Sydney Aquatic Centre, Sydney Athletics Centre, Sydney International Hockey Centre, Sydney International Tennis Centre, Sydney Showground, Dunc Gray Velodrome, Eastern Creek International Karting Raceway, Sydney Dragway, Sydney International Shooting Centre, Valentine Sports Park (Football NSW State Headquarters), Penrith Stadium, Western Sydney Parklands, Katoomba Scenic Cableway, Railway & Skyway, Bankstown CBD, Blacktown CBD, Camden CBD, Campbelltown CBD, Castle Hill CBD, Fairfield CBD, Liverpool CBD, Parramatta CBD, Penrith CBD, the Georges River, the Hawkesbury River, the Nepean River, the Parramatta River, various dams and lakes and several wineries.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of Greater Western Sydney were various tribes of Aboriginal people.

Included areas

Greater Western Sydney includes fourteen local government areas: Auburn City, Bankstown City, Blacktown City, Blue Mountains City, the Camden Council area, Campbelltown City, Fairfield City, Hawkesbury City, Holroyd City, Liverpool City, the City of Parramatta, Penrith City, The Hills Shire and Wollondilly Shire.