Western Sydney Regional Organisation of CouncilsCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Cumberland Council

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Cumberland Council is 226,051, with a population density of 31.54 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Cumberland Council area is located in Sydney's western suburbs, about 25 kilometres from the Sydney CBD. The Cumberland Council area is bounded by the City of Parramatta in the north, the Strathfield Council area in the east, the City of Canterbury Bankstown and Fairfield City in the south, and Blacktown City in the west.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1790s when expansion from Parramatta stimulated growth in the northern suburbs. Land was used mainly for small scale farming and sheep and cattle grazing. Population was minimal until the 1850s and 1860s. Growth took place during the late 1870s and 1880s, aided by the opening of railway lines and the establishment of many industries. The population continued to grow in the early 1900s. The most significant residential development occurred in the post-war years, particularly during the 1950s and 1960s, aided by immigration and industrial growth. Gradual growth took place from the early 1990s, with the population of the Council area rising from about 153,000 in 1991 to over 192,000 in 2011. Most of the growth in the last two decades has been from urban consolidation (medium and high density housing) in the established areas, but more recently has also been from redevelopment of previous industrial land in the suburbs of Pemulwuy and Regents Park.

Land use

The Cumberland Council area is predominantly residential, with substantial industrial areas, and some commercial, institutional and recreational areas. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 70 square kilometres.


The Cumberland Council area is served by the Western Motorway, the Cumberland Highway, the Great Western Highway and the main western, Bankstown and Cumberland railway lines.

Major features

Major features of the Council area include Carnarvon Golf Club, Cumberland Country Golf Club, Rosnay Golf Club (Auburn Public Golf Course), Woodville Golf Course, Auburn Central Shopping Centre, Auburn Arcade Shopping Centre, Merrylands City Centre, Stockland Merrylands Shopping Centre, Wentworthville Mall, Wentworthville Plaza, TAFE NSW South Western Sydney Institute (Granville and Lidcombe Colleges), The University of Sydney (Cumberland Campus), Auburn Athletics Track, Melita Stadium, Auburn Botanic Gardens, Campbell Hill Pioneer Reserve, Central Gardens, Granville Park, Holroyd Gardens, Merrylands Park, Wyatt Park and Rookwood Necropolis (Cemetery).

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Cumberland Council area were the Dharug Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Cumberland Council area includes the suburbs of Auburn (part), Berala, Chester Hill (part), Fairfield (part), Girraween, Granville (part), Greystanes, Guildford, Guildford West, Holroyd, Homebush West (part), Lidcombe (part), Mays Hill (part), Merrylands, Merrylands West, Pemulwuy, Pendle Hill (part), Prospect (part), Regents Park (part), Rookwood, Smithfield (part), South Granville, South Wentworthville, Toongabbie (part), Wentworthville (part), Westmead (part), Woodpark and Yennora (part).