Western Sydney Regional Organisation of CouncilsCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

WSROC Region

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for the WSROC Region is 1,573,519, with a population density of 2.91 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (WSROC) Region is located in Sydney’s west. WSROC was formed in 1973 by Western Sydney councils as a regional advocacy, research and resource sharing organisation. The WSROC Region is bounded by the Singleton Council area and Cessnock City in the north, the Central Coast Council area, The Hills Shire, Hornsby Shire, the City of Ryde, the City of Canada Bay, the Strathfield Council area, the City of Canterbury Bankstown and Sutherland Shire in the east, Campbelltown City, the Camden Council area and Wollondilly Shire in the south, and the Oberon Council area and Lithgow City in the west.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1788 when the first farms were established. Gradual growth took place during the early 1800s, with land used mainly for timber-getting, sheep and cattle farming, crop growing and market gardening. Growth increased in the late 1800s and the early 1900s, aided by the opening of railway lines, improved access, the establishment of many industries and tourism. Significant residential development occurred during the 1950s and 1960s, spurred by immigration, industrial growth and the construction of public housing estates. Rapid growth continued during the 1970s and 1980s. The population continued to increase from the early 1990s, rising from about 1.06 million in 1991, to 1.22 million in 2001, and then to about 1.37 million in 2011. Growth continued from 2011, with the population rising to nearly 1.52 million in 2016. Much of the recent growth has been in major release areas in Blacktown City and Liverpool City. In other areas growth has been largely from urban consolidation, infill development (medium and high density housing), town centre development and redevelopment of former industrial sites for sporting, recreation, entertainment and housing. Growth is expected to continue.

Land use
Land use 4% 11% 62% 23%

Land use

The WSROC Region has substantial residential, rural, industrial, commercial, institutional, military and recreational areas. The WSROC Region encompasses a total land area of about 5,400 square kilometres, including national parks, waterways and parklands. The LGA with the largest population in the WSROC Region is Blacktown City, with Hawkesbury City having the smallest population. The LGA with the largest land area is Hawkesbury City, with Cumberland Council having the smallest land area.


The WSROC Region is served by the Western Motorway (M4), the South Western Motorway (M5), Westlink (M7), the Cumberland Highway, the Great Western Highway, the Hume Highway, Bells Line of Road, the Katoomba airfield and numerous railway lines and bus services.

Major features

Major features of the Region include Sydney Olympic Park, Eastern Creek International Karting Raceway, Penrith Stadium, Penrith Whitewater Stadium, Sydney Dragway, Sydney International Equestrian Centre, Sydney International Regatta Centre, Sydney International Shooting Centre, Sydney Motorsport Park, Valentine Sports Park (Football NSW State Headquarters), various National Parks (Blue Mountains, Cattai, Scheyville, Wollemi and Yeong), several Regional Parks (Leacock, Penrith Lakes, Rouse Hill, Wianamatta and Yellomundee), Western Sydney Parklands, various Nature Reserves (Agnes Banks, Castlereagh, Gulguer, Kemps Creek, Mulgoa and Windsor Downs), Bents Basin State Conservation Area, Parr State Conservation Area, Chipping Norton Lakes, Lake Parramatta, Penrith Lakes Scheme, Katoomba Scenic World, Featherdale Wildlife Park, Norman Lindsay Gallery & Museum, Crago Observatory, TAFE NSW South Western Sydney Institute (Granville, Lidcombe, Liverpool and Miller Colleges), TAFE NSW Western Sydney Institute (Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Mount Druitt, Nepean, Nirimba and Richmond Colleges), The University of Sydney (Cumberland Campus, John Bruce Pye Farm and Wolverton Farm), Western Sydney University (Blacktown, Hawkesbury, Parramatta and Penrith Campuses and Westmead Precinct), the Fairfield CBD, the Liverpool CBD, the Parramatta CBD, the Penrith CBD, RAAF Base Glenbrook, RAAF Base Richmond, Holsworthy Barracks, Lancer Barracks, Newington Armory, Defence Establishment Orchard Hills, Cobham Juvenile Justice Centre, Emu Plains Correctional Centre, John Morony Correctional Complex, Parklea Correctional Centre, Silverwater Correctional Complex, several rivers (Georges, Hawkesbury, Nepean and Parramatta) and numerous sporting facilities, golf clubs, aquatic centres, museums, hospitals, parks and reserves.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the WSROC Region were the Cabrogal, Darkinjung, Dharug and Gundungurra Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The WSROC Region includes the eight local government areas of Blacktown City, Blue Mountains City, Cumberland Council, Fairfield City, Hawkesbury City, Liverpool City, the City of Parramatta and Penrith City.