City of WhittleseaCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Whittlesea

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Whittlesea (+3,663) was from Darebin (C), whilst the highest net loss (-316) was to Mitchell (S).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Whittlesea is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Whittlesea's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Whittlesea - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Darebin (C)5,4011,738+3,663
Banyule (C)4,4891,515+2,974
Nillumbik (S)2,700730+1,970
Moreland (C)1,509587+922
Manningham (C)827288+539
Murrindindi (S)418142+276
Whitehorse (C)352168+184
Yarra (C)353184+169
Maroondah (C)23286+146
Yarra Ranges (S)22393+130
Monash (C)224104+120
Knox (C)207104+103
Greater Dandenong (C)15055+95
Boroondara (C)304209+95
Greater Shepparton (C)14764+83
Stonnington (C)13660+76
Mildura (RC)749+65
Maribyrnong (C)160101+59
Casey (C)233174+59
Glen Eira (C)11663+53
Liverpool (C)6513+52
Melbourne (C)245194+51
Blacktown (C)6820+48
Kingston (C)14195+46
Moonee Valley (C)295251+44
Wagga Wagga (C)320+32
Logan (C)6130+31
Hobsons Bay (C)12695+31
Salisbury (C)5828+30
Darwin (C)5126+25
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)3410+24
Wangaratta (RC)4220+22
Canterbury (C)220+22
Brimbank (C)427408+19
Canning (C)213+18
Penrith (C)269+17
Warringah (A)170+17
Fraser Coast (R)3316+17
Bankstown (C)259+16
Campbelltown (C)259+16
Sutherland Shire (A)160+16
Palmerston (C)3419+15
Cairns (R)3722+15
Gosford (C)206+14
Gannawarra (S)206+14
Ryde (C)130+13
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)130+13
Unley (C)130+13
Auburn (C)163+13
Renmark Paringa (DC)120+12
The Hills Shire (A)197+12
Kingborough (M)153+12
Hawkesbury (C)120+12
Tea Tree Gully (C)143+11
Burnside (C)110+11
Sunshine Coast (R)6150+11
Bayswater (C)154+11
Joondalup (C)176+11
Glenelg (S)166+10
Shellharbour (C)100+10
Yarriambiack (S)133+10
Wodonga (RC)4232+10
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)90+9
Griffith (C)90+9
Adelaide Hills (DC)90+9
Warrnambool (C)2012+8
Toowoomba (R)1810+8
Ashfield (A)70+7
Dubbo (C)70+7
Barossa (DC)70+7
Northern Midlands (M)70+7
Willoughby (C)60+6
Golden Plains (S)126+6
West Torrens (C)126+6
Mount Alexander (S)1812+6
Glamorgan/Spring Bay (M)60+6
Hay (A)60+6
Wellington (A)60+6
Bassendean (T)60+6
Wollongong (C)2318+5
Marion (C)149+5
Berrigan (A)149+5
Alpine (S)116+5
Camden (A)94+5
Port Phillip (C)10196+5
Baw Baw (S)2218+4
Eurobodalla (A)95+4
Port Stephens (A)106+4
Colac-Otway (S)139+4
Bundaberg (R)84+4
Charles Sturt (C)1815+3
Ashburton (S)63+3
Clarence (C)1613+3
Fairfield (C)2118+3
Litchfield (M)107+3
Alice Springs (T)63+3
Campbelltown (C)129+3
Onkaparinga (C)129+3
Randwick (C)1310+3
Tamworth Regional (A)63+3
Glenorchy (C)1613+3
Townsville (C)4340+3
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)63+3
Marrickville (A)96+3
Belmont (C)96+3
Cockburn (C)64+2
Latrobe (C)4240+2
Hobart (C)1513+2
Bega Valley (A)97+2
Coffs Harbour (C)1513+2
Roebourne (S)98+1
Wanneroo (C)1817+1
Shoalhaven (C)76+1
Central Goldfields (S)1211+1
Moreton Bay (R)6564+1
Unincorporated ACT93930
Hornsby (A)990
Albury (C)23230
Campaspe (S)41410
Cardinia (S)50500
Rockdale (C)880
Lake Macquarie (C)12120
Kalamunda (S)10100
Corangamite (S)14140
Stirling (C)24240
Wellington (S)3334-1
Vincent (T)67-1
Bayside (C)2728-1
Mornington Peninsula (S)140141-1
Mount Gambier (C)910-1
Launceston (C)1213-1
Southern Grampians (S)1011-1
Holroyd (C)1012-2
Northern Grampians (S)79-2
Port Augusta (C)46-2
Indigo (S)2022-2
Mackay (R)1113-2
Rockingham (C)1315-2
Moyne (S)79-2
Strathbogie (S)2426-2
Loddon (S)911-2
Perth (C)36-3
Broome (S)36-3
Parramatta (C)1518-3
Strathfield (A)69-3
Botany Bay (C)36-3
Cassowary Coast (R)36-3
West Tamar (M)36-3
Newcastle (C)1518-3
Adelaide (C)48-4
Horsham (RC)812-4
Ku-ring-gai (A)37-4
Sydney (C)1014-4
East Gippsland (S)5155-4
Tweed (A)611-5
Gold Coast (C)112117-5
Waratah/Wynyard (M)06-6
Oberon (A)06-6
Leeton (A)06-6
Port Hedland (T)06-6
Queanbeyan (C)713-6
Mansfield (S)915-6
Lockyer Valley (R)06-6
Dorset (M)06-6
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)06-6
Alexandrina (DC)07-7
Meander Valley (M)07-7
Swan (C)916-7
Palerang (A)08-8
Swan Hill (RC)1019-9
Lachlan (A)09-9
Orange (C)09-9
Melville (C)09-9
Mundaring (S)09-9
Playford (C)919-10
Whitsunday (R)314-11
South Gippsland (S)920-11
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)012-12
Armadale (C)1123-12
Pyrenees (S)619-13
Ipswich (C)1730-13
Gosnells (C)619-13
Gladstone (R)014-14
Moorabool (S)2540-15
Corowa Shire (A)421-17
Redland (C)929-20
Greater Bendigo (C)131152-21
Murray (A)324-21
Brisbane (C)100121-21
Surf Coast (S)1238-26
Benalla (RC)329-26
Frankston (C)72102-30
Ballarat (C)6798-31
No usual address (Vic.)1653-37
Moira (S)3172-41
Greater Geelong (C)123174-51
Bass Coast (S)2376-53
Macedon Ranges (S)56114-58
Hume (C)1,6741,790-116
Melton (S)218422-204
Wyndham (C)231463-232
Mitchell (S)584900-316
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.