City of WhittleseaCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Epping North - Wollert

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Epping North - Wollert is 27,572, with a population density of 8.24 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Epping North - Wollert is bounded by Craigieburn Road East and Lehmanns Road in the north, a line running through the suburbs of South Morang and Epping, Quarry Hills Park and Bradman Terrace in the east, Findon Road and the Hume Freeway in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from 1839, with land used mainly for grazing and farming. Population was minimal until the 1980s. Rapid development occurred from the early 1990s as large numbers of new dwellings were added to the area, largely from Aurora and Lyndarum estates. The most rapid growth took place between 2006 and 2011, particularly in the southern areas. Growth is expected to continue.

Land use

Epping North - Wollert is a recent and rapidly developing residential area.

Major features

Major features of the area include Harvest Home Recreation Reserve, Epping RSL, Epping North Shopping Centre, Galada Community Centre, Epping Soccer Stadium, Aurora Creek Reserve, Allendale Park, Bellavista Park, Contempo Park, Courances Park, Findon Creek Linear Park, Fulham Park, Gammage Park, Longwood Park, Northside Park, Paul Park, Phoenix Park, Porsche Park, Steadman Park, Stoneyfield Park, Thyme Park, Lyndarum Wetland, Pine Park Wetland and a number of schools.

Included areas

This small area encompasses most of the northern part of the suburb of Epping, part of the locality of Wollert, and part of the suburb of South Morang. The remaining parts of the suburb of Epping are included in the Epping, Rural Balance and South Morang small areas. The remaining part of the locality of Wollert is included in the Rural Balance small area. The remaining parts of the suburb of South Morang are included in the Mernda, Rural Balance and South Morang small areas.