City of West TorrensCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

City of West Torrens

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of West Torrens (+167) was from Adelaide (C), whilst the highest net loss (-479) was to Charles Sturt (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of West Torrens is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of West Torrens's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of West Torrens - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Adelaide (C)371204+167
Unley (C)565455+110
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)7919+60
Berri and Barmera (DC)6918+51
Holdfast Bay (C)561512+49
Alice Springs (T)6722+45
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)260222+38
Tatiara (DC)436+37
Port Augusta (C)5624+32
Port Lincoln (C)5928+31
Tea Tree Gully (C)299270+29
Prospect (C)184155+29
Yorke Peninsula (DC)6235+27
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)4015+25
Broken Hill (C)3914+25
Whyalla (C)6240+22
Murray Bridge (RC)4826+22
Renmark Paringa (DC)4018+22
Mildura (RC)4018+22
Darwin (C)7054+16
Streaky Bay (DC)193+16
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)259+16
Wagga Wagga (C)150+15
The Coorong (DC)140+14
Adelaide Hills (DC)134120+14
Wentworth (A)173+14
Copper Coast (DC)6046+14
Mount Gambier (C)5037+13
Marrickville (A)218+13
Logan (C)186+12
Roxby Downs (M)3018+12
Robe (DC)120+12
Whitsunday (R)110+11
Tumby Bay (DC)176+11
Goyder (DC)100+10
Walkerville (M)5141+10
Mitcham (C)537527+10
Southern Mallee (DC)100+10
Kingston (DC)133+10
Auburn (C)100+10
Hindmarsh (S)90+9
Burnside (C)268259+9
Wudinna (DC)123+9
Macedon Ranges (S)80+8
Sorell (M)70+7
Burwood (A)103+7
Lake Macquarie (C)70+7
Penrith (C)70+7
Willoughby (C)93+6
Grant (DC)60+6
Wellington (A)60+6
Coober Pedy (DC)60+6
Wattle Range (DC)2014+6
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)60+6
Karoonda East Murray (DC)60+6
Ashfield (A)93+6
Rockhampton (R)93+6
West Arnhem (S)60+6
Tablelands (R)60+6
Greater Bendigo (C)149+5
Victoria-Daly (S)83+5
Campbelltown (C)73+4
Cardinia (S)73+4
Harvey (S)73+4
Launceston (C)73+4
Nillumbik (S)73+4
Glenelg (S)73+4
Litchfield (M)63+3
North Sydney (A)74+3
Toowoomba (R)96+3
Woollahra (A)96+3
Orroroo/Carrieton (DC)96+3
Horsham (RC)74+3
Hornsby (A)107+3
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)96+3
Parramatta (C)96+3
Ballarat (C)129+3
Darebin (C)1613+3
Kimba (DC)63+3
Franklin Harbour (DC)86+2
Tweed (A)64+2
Ryde (C)108+2
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)119+2
Cockburn (C)109+1
Campbelltown (C)201200+1
South Perth (C)76+1
Meander Valley (M)76+1
Mid Murray (DC)12120
Blue Mountains (C)660
Queanbeyan (C)660
Unincorporated SA880
Tamworth Regional (A)660
Armidale Dumaresq (A)660
Broome (S)660
Moonee Valley (C)1213-1
Greater Geelong (C)1112-1
Hobart (C)78-1
Ceduna (DC)1112-1
Wakefield (DC)2324-1
Clarence (C)67-1
Barunga West (DC)1113-2
Light (RegC)2729-2
Moreton Bay (R)1618-2
Cassowary Coast (R)46-2
Gladstone (R)46-2
Mallala (DC)1315-2
Belmont (C)79-2
Perth (C)36-3
Port Stephens (A)36-3
Singleton (A)36-3
Canning (C)36-3
Wellington (S)36-3
Bega Valley (A)69-3
Sutherland Shire (A)36-3
Murray (A)36-3
Glenorchy (C)59-4
Cleve (DC)59-4
Leichhardt (A)38-5
Warringah (A)38-5
Palmerston (C)38-5
Gosnells (C)813-5
Warrnambool (C)611-5
Roebourne (S)06-6
Bathurst Regional (A)06-6
Strathfield (A)06-6
Knox (C)612-6
Whittlesea (C)612-6
Shoalhaven (C)06-6
Greater Dandenong (C)06-6
Vincent (T)39-6
Gosford (C)06-6
Esperance (S)06-6
Fraser Coast (R)06-6
Manningham (C)511-6
Swan (C)39-6
Newcastle (C)612-6
Port Hedland (T)06-6
Hobsons Bay (C)916-7
Mackay (R)310-7
Loxton Waikerie (DC)2431-7
Kingston (C)613-7
Muswellbrook (A)07-7
Mornington Peninsula (S)310-7
Ku-ring-gai (A)310-7
Rockingham (C)613-7
Randwick (C)614-8
Moreland (C)2028-8
Pittwater (A)08-8
Maribyrnong (C)311-8
Port Phillip (C)1726-9
Casey (C)1625-9
Yarra (C)1322-9
Joondalup (C)312-9
Holroyd (C)09-9
Orange (C)09-9
Redland (C)312-9
Glen Eira (C)1726-9
No usual address (Qld)09-9
Bayswater (C)312-9
Blacktown (C)616-10
Wanneroo (C)010-10
Northern Areas (DC)818-10
Lane Cove (A)010-10
Townsville (C)1424-10
Canada Bay (A)010-10
Liverpool (C)315-12
Wodonga (RC)012-12
Whitehorse (C)921-12
Waverley (A)315-12
Ipswich (C)013-13
Brimbank (C)619-13
No usual address (SA)1630-14
Monash (C)2135-14
Hume (C)015-15
Melville (C)318-15
Yankalilla (DC)1026-16
Barossa (DC)3553-18
Maroondah (C)321-18
Gawler (T)3351-18
Melbourne (C)1736-19
Victor Harbor (C)4463-19
Sydney (C)2444-20
Wyndham (C)1232-20
Stonnington (C)931-22
Boroondara (C)1032-22
Sunshine Coast (R)933-24
Alexandrina (DC)6893-25
Cairns (R)1742-25
Stirling (C)1849-31
Unincorporated ACT5892-34
Mount Barker (DC)79128-49
Playford (C)121173-52
Gold Coast (C)4193-52
Brisbane (C)71138-67
Onkaparinga (C)725892-167
Salisbury (C)351559-208
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)648879-231
Marion (C)1,1411,385-244
Charles Sturt (C)1,7662,245-479
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.