Warringah CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content


About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Brookvale is 2,990, with a population density of 13.66 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Brookvale is bounded by the suburbs of Beacon Hill and Narraweena in the north, Harbord Road in the east, Wattle Road, Short Street, William Street, Condamine Street, Old Pittwater Road, the southern edge of TAFE NSW Northern Sydney Institute and Lyly Road in the south, and Allenby Park Parade, the eastern edge of Allenby Park, the northern edge of Peninsula Industrial Estate, Beacon Hill Road and Aperta Place in the west.

Name origin

Brookvale is named after the brook which ran through the area.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from 1836 when the first land grant was made. Land was used mainly for farming. Some growth took place in the 1880s and 1890s. A number of industries were established in the early 1900s, including brickyards. Significant development occurred during the post-war years, including industrial growth in the 1950s and 1960s. Brookvale is now the industrial centre of the Warringah Council area. The population increased between 1991 and 1996, and then again between 2001 and 2011 as new dwellings were added to the area, particularly medium density housing.

Land use

Brookvale is a mixed use area, with a residential area in the section north of Pittwater Road, substantial industrial estates, a large retail centre at the junction of Condamine Street and Pittwater Road, and a smaller retail area along Pittwater Road.

Major features

Major features of the area include Westfield Warringah Mall Shopping Centre, TAFE NSW Northern Sydney Institute (Northern Beaches College), Brookvale Oval, Brookvale Park, Manly-Warringah Leagues Club, Brookvale Shopping Centre, Peninsula Industrial Estate, Greendale Industrial Estate, Winbourne Industrial Estate and two schools.