City of UnleyCommunity profile
Skip to content

City of Unley

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Unley (+60) was from Adelaide (C), whilst the highest net loss (-287) was to Mitcham (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Unley is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Unley's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Unley - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Adelaide (C)389329+60
Tea Tree Gully (C)174124+50
Murray Bridge (RC)4815+33
Holdfast Bay (C)257225+32
Leichhardt (A)297+22
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)423402+21
Whyalla (C)3615+21
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)256+19
Palmerston (C)190+19
Darwin (C)6446+18
Mount Gambier (C)3315+18
Hume (C)214+17
Gosford (C)160+16
Sutherland Shire (A)160+16
Yorke Peninsula (DC)259+16
Playford (C)5641+15
Tatiara (DC)227+15
Mildura (RC)2813+15
East Gippsland (S)140+14
Frankston (C)120+12
Manningham (C)120+12
Newcastle (C)197+12
Broken Hill (C)187+11
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)2615+11
Victor Harbor (C)4838+10
Gawler (T)3020+10
Redland (C)123+9
Renmark Paringa (DC)123+9
Wattle Range (DC)168+8
Barossa (DC)3830+8
Nedlands (C)124+8
Coober Pedy (DC)103+7
The Hills Shire (A)103+7
Tweed (A)60+6
Wagga Wagga (C)60+6
Warringah (A)93+6
Manly (A)60+6
Bega Valley (A)60+6
Gannawarra (S)60+6
Banyule (C)159+6
Kingston (C)93+6
Glenelg (S)60+6
Karoonda East Murray (DC)60+6
Yarra Ranges (S)126+6
Albany (C)60+6
Cockburn (C)126+6
Cottesloe (T)60+6
Mount Remarkable (DC)60+6
Kingborough (M)60+6
Light (RegC)139+4
Adelaide Hills (DC)334330+4
Boroondara (C)4440+4
North Sydney (A)2723+4
Willoughby (C)96+3
Canada Bay (A)107+3
Lake Macquarie (C)63+3
Hindmarsh (S)63+3
Loxton Waikerie (DC)1512+3
Barunga West (DC)63+3
The Coorong (DC)1411+3
Hobart (C)107+3
Canning (C)97+2
Wakefield (DC)86+2
Port Lincoln (C)2624+2
Knox (C)64+2
Casey (C)64+2
Monash (C)1312+1
Greater Geelong (C)1615+1
Woollahra (A)1211+1
Tumby Bay (DC)76+1
Belmont (C)65+1
Moreton Bay (R)1918+1
South Perth (C)1211+1
Swan (C)660
Logan (C)660
Berri and Barmera (DC)990
Ceduna (DC)660
Walkerville (M)70700
Mosman (A)660
Auburn (C)660
Greater Bendigo (C)990
Holroyd (C)67-1
Northern Areas (DC)1415-1
Subiaco (C)1011-1
Joondalup (C)36-3
Mid Murray (DC)912-3
Toowoomba (R)36-3
Isaac (R)47-3
Randwick (C)1518-3
Marrickville (A)2326-3
Maribyrnong (C)48-4
Copper Coast (DC)2024-4
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)1923-4
Port Augusta (C)37-4
No usual address (SA)1822-4
Rockingham (C)712-5
Vincent (T)1015-5
Launceston (C)38-5
West Tamar (M)49-5
Cambridge (T)39-6
Fremantle (C)39-6
Roxby Downs (M)612-6
Cairns (R)1824-6
Maroondah (C)39-6
Moyne (S)06-6
Wellington (S)06-6
Hobsons Bay (C)1622-6
Macedon Ranges (S)06-6
Pittwater (A)39-6
Waverley (A)1622-6
Liverpool (C)06-6
Bankstown (C)06-6
Blacktown (C)06-6
Coffs Harbour (C)39-6
Ku-ring-gai (A)1421-7
Bayside (C)1522-7
Gosnells (C)310-7
Mosman Park (T)07-7
No usual address (WA)08-8
Alice Springs (T)1826-8
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)08-8
Albury (C)08-8
Blue Mountains (C)311-8
Yankalilla (DC)1827-9
Townsville (C)918-9
Mallala (DC)09-9
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)615-9
Claremont (T)09-9
Hawkesbury (C)010-10
Cessnock (C)011-11
Parramatta (C)415-11
Ballarat (C)012-12
Wyndham (C)012-12
Whitehorse (C)2841-13
Whittlesea (C)013-13
Mornington Peninsula (S)316-13
Sunshine Coast (R)1427-13
Ipswich (C)316-13
Stirling (C)1023-13
Sydney (C)6276-14
Hornsby (A)318-15
Port Phillip (C)4156-15
Moonee Valley (C)1227-15
Glen Eira (C)419-15
Unincorporated ACT85100-15
Stonnington (C)4259-17
Alexandrina (DC)5168-17
Ryde (C)018-18
Prospect (C)123142-19
Melbourne (C)3657-21
Melville (C)526-21
Charles Sturt (C)356381-25
Salisbury (C)129155-26
Darebin (C)333-30
Moreland (C)739-32
Onkaparinga (C)422461-39
Burnside (C)798839-41
Yarra (C)2568-43
Gold Coast (C)2577-52
Mount Barker (DC)117180-63
Campbelltown (C)158229-71
Brisbane (C)83155-72
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)240324-84
West Torrens (C)455565-110
Marion (C)444580-136
Mitcham (C)1,1621,449-287
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.