Tamworth Regional CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Tamworth Regional Council

SEIFA - disadvantage by Local Government Area

In 2011, Tamworth Regional Council scored 959.9 on the SEIFA Index of Disadvantage.

Tamworth Regional Council SEIFA Index of Disadvantage measures the relative level of socio-economic disadvantage based on a range of Census characteristics. It is a good place to start to get a general view of the relative level of disadvantage in one area compared to others and is used to advocate for an area based on its level of disadvantage.

The index is derived from attributes that reflect disadvantage such as low income, low educational attainment, high unemployment, and jobs in relatively unskilled occupations.  When targeting services to disadvantaged communities, it is important to also look at these underlying characteristics as they can differ markedly between areas with similar SEIFA scores and shed light on the type of disadvantage being experienced.

A higher score on the index means a lower level of disadvantage. A lower score on the index means a higher level of disadvantage.

Index of Relative Socio-economic Disadvantage
Local Government Areas in New South Wales
Local Government Area2011 index
Ku-ring-gai (A)1,120.7
Mosman (A)1,110.7
Woollahra (A)1,107.0
Lane Cove (A)1,106.9
The Hills Shire (A)1,104.8
North Sydney (A)1,104.8
Manly (A)1,099.4
Pittwater (A)1,094.4
Hunters Hill (A)1,092.2
Hornsby (A)1,085.2
Willoughby (C)1,083.5
Palerang (A)1,081.7
Waverley (A)1,079.6
Leichhardt (A)1,078.9
Warringah (A)1,077.3
Sutherland Shire (A)1,074.6
Canada Bay (A)1,067.0
Yass Valley (A)1,060.6
Kiama (A)1,054.6
Ryde (C)1,050.4
Snowy River (A)1,050.0
Camden (A)1,047.1
Queanbeyan (C)1,045.7
Randwick (C)1,042.7
Conargo (A)1,040.1
Blue Mountains (C)1,038.6
Kogarah (C)1,036.2
Wollondilly (A)1,033.6
Parramatta (C)1,032.8
Wingecarribee (A)1,023.8
Strathfield (A)1,022.1
Unincorporated NSW1,021.8
Marrickville (A)1,021.6
Hawkesbury (C)1,020.3
Sydney (C)1,019.9
Ashfield (A)1,015.4
Singleton (A)1,013.0
Hurstville (C)1,006.9
Upper Lachlan Shire (A)1,006.3
Gosford (C)1,006.3
Cabonne (A)1,000.3
Lockhart (A)999.3
Jerilderie (A)997.6
Wagga Wagga (C)997.6
Penrith (C)996.3
Burwood (A)996.1
Lake Macquarie (C)994.8
Newcastle (C)993.9
Maitland (C)992.8
Rockdale (C)991.2
Bathurst Regional (A)991.0
Cooma-Monaro (A)990.6
Greater Hume Shire (A)989.3
Ballina (A)988.7
Dungog (A)988.5
Murray (A)987.7
Armidale Dumaresq (A)986.9
Uralla (A)984.7
Blayney (A)982.2
Upper Hunter Shire (A)981.5
Port Stephens (A)979.9
Wollongong (C)979.6
Albury (C)978.6
Dubbo (C)977.0
Orange (C)977.0
Byron (A)976.6
Oberon (A)975.9
Wakool (A)975.7
Botany Bay (C)975.7
Coolamon (A)975.1
Bland (A)974.5
Walcha (A)973.9
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)968.9
Carrathool (A)968.8
Bega Valley (A)968.7
Shellharbour (C)968.6
Blacktown (C)968.5
Muswellbrook (A)968.2
Corowa Shire (A)967.8
Holroyd (C)965.6
Boorowa (A)963.8
Griffith (C)963.7
Gundagai (A)961.6
Mid-Western Regional (A)961.5
Tamworth Regional (A)959.9
Tweed (A)958.5
Coffs Harbour (C)958.4
Wentworth (A)957.4
Cobar (A)956.7
Eurobodalla (A)955.8
Temora (A)955.6
Shoalhaven (C)954.6
Leeton (A)954.5
Tumbarumba (A)954.3
Berrigan (A)954.1
Narrabri (A)953.4
Lismore (C)952.7
Bombala (A)952.5
Wyong (A)951.7
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)951.4
Tumut Shire (A)951.3
Gloucester (A)951.0
Liverpool (C)951.0
Bellingen (A)950.1
Young (A)947.3
Forbes (A)946.8
Gunnedah (A)946.7
Balranald (A)946.2
Bogan (A)946.1
Weddin (A)945.0
Campbelltown (C)944.8
Parkes (A)943.5
Harden (A)941.9
Junee (A)941.7
Deniliquin (A)941.6
Cootamundra (A)941.5
Warren (A)941.2
Gwydir (A)939.9
Lachlan (A)938.1
Urana (A)937.1
Cessnock (C)936.4
Bourke (A)932.6
Great Lakes (A)932.3
Bankstown (C)931.7
Guyra (A)931.0
Murrumbidgee (A)928.3
Cowra (A)928.0
Hay (A)927.0
Narromine (A)926.6
Narrandera (A)925.2
Lithgow (C)924.2
Canterbury (C)922.0
Glen Innes Severn (A)921.8
Inverell (A)921.4
Liverpool Plains (A)921.3
Clarence Valley (A)919.4
Auburn (C)916.7
Tenterfield (A)915.4
Moree Plains (A)915.1
Greater Taree (C)913.7
Warrumbungle Shire (A)911.3
Gilgandra (A)910.6
Kyogle (A)907.1
Nambucca (A)900.0
Broken Hill (C)899.6
Richmond Valley (A)899.5
Wellington (A)893.2
Kempsey (A)879.7
Coonamble (A)879.6
Walgett (A)856.2
Fairfield (C)854.0
Central Darling (A)824.4
Brewarrina (A)788.4
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing 2011. Compiled and presented in profile.id by .id , the population experts.