South Gippsland Shire CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

South East Coastal District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for South East Coastal District is 5,401, with a population density of 0.04 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

South East Coastal District is bounded by the localities of Dollar, Woorarra West, Boolarong and Gunyah and Devils Pinch Road in the north, Wellington Shire in the north-east, Bass Strait in the east and south, and the localities of Tarwin Lower, Buffalo and Stony Creek in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1840s, although population was minimal until the 1860s when gold was discovered in Foster. Several townships were established in the 1870s and 1880s, accompanied by dairy farming and some mining. Growth continued into the early 1900s, aided by the opening of the railway line in the early 1890s. Wilsons Promontory National Park was gazetted in 1905. More substantial growth occurred in the post-war years, aided by returned soldier settlement schemes. The population has declined slightly since the early 1990s, a result of some new dwellings being added to the area, but a decline in dwelling occupancy rates and the average number of persons living in each dwelling.

Land use

South East Coastal District is a rural and holiday area which includes the townships of Fish Creek, Foster, Port Welshpool, Sandy Point, Toora and Welshpool. The area is popular for holidays, especially along the coast. Rural land is used mainly for dairy and beef farming, with some potato growing and fishing.

Major features

Major features of the area include Wilsons Promontory National Park (including Wilsons Promontory Lightstation, Squeaky Beach, Mount Oberon, Tidal River and Picnic Bay), Cape Liptrap Coastal Park, Corner Inlet Marine & Coastal Park, Nooramunga Marine & Coastal Park, Shallow Inlet Marine & Coastal Park, Wilsons Promontory Marine Reserve, Wilsons Promontory Marine National Park, Foster Flora Reserve, Foster Golf Club, South Gippsland Hospital (Foster), Agnes Falls, The Great Southern Rail Trail, Toora Wind Farm, Foster Museum, Foster Pool, Toora Pool, Arthur Sutherland Reserve, Beach Parade Reserve, Foster Showground, Foster Skate Park, Franklin River Reserve, Gale Street Reserve, Harding Lawson Reserve, John Terrill Memorial Park, Kaffir Hill Bushland Reserve, Lance Moon Park, Memorial Hall Reserve, Pearl Park, Port Franklin Recreation Reserve, Port Welshpool Foreshore Reserve, Sagassar Park, Stanley Street Playground, Station Road Reserve, Stockyard Gallery, Port Welshpool & District Maritime Museum, Port Franklin Boardwalk, various beaches and a number of schools.

Included areas

South East Coastal District includes the localities of Agnes, Bennison, Fish Creek, Foster, Foster North, Hazel Park, Mount Best, Port Franklin, Port Welshpool, Sandy Point, Toora, Walkerville, Waratah Bay, Welshpool, Wilsons Promontory, Wonga, Wonyip, Woorarra East and Yanakie, and the South Gippsland Shire parts of the localities of Binginwarri, Hedley and Toora North.