Shoalhaven City CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Planning area 5

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Planning area 5 is 20,553, with a population density of 0.41 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Planning Area 5 is bounded by Wents Road, Sussex Inlet Road and the locality of Sussex Inlet in the north, The Springs Road, Goonawarra Drive, the localities of Cudmirrah and Berrara, Berrara Creek and the Tasman Sea in the east, the Eurobodalla Shire in the south, and the Old Princes Highway, the localities of Brooman, Morton, Mount Kingiman, Little Forest, Pointer Mountain and Twelve Mile Peg in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1820s, with land used mainly for timber getting and cattle grazing. The townships of Milton and Ulladulla were established in the mid 1800s, acting as service centres for the surrounding farming district. Population was minimal until the 1870s, with growth into the early 1900s. The most significant development occurred during the post-war years. The population has increased since the early 1990s, a result of new dwellings being added to the area.

Land use

Planning Area 5 is a rural and growing residential area, which includes the townships of Milton and Ulladulla. Predominate industries include retail, tourism, manufacturing, government, education, agriculture and fishing. The majority of the workforce commutes with in Area 5 or to Nowra/Bomaderry or to Batemans Bay. Area 5 has a median age of 46 and covers over 173,000 hectares.

Major features

Major features of the area include the Ulladulla CBD, Ulladulla Harbour, Conjola National Park, Meroo National Park, Morton National Park, Murramarang National Park, Belowla Island Nature Reserve, Brush Island Nature Reserve, Narrawallee Creek Nature Reserve, Yatteyattah Nature Reserve, Barnunj State Conservation Area, Burrill Lake, Conjola Lake, Meroo Lake, Swan Lake, Tabourie Lake, Williga Lake, TAFE NSW Illawarra Institute (Ulladulla Campus), Ulladulla Leisure Centre, Lake Tabourie Museum, Mollymook Hilltop Golf Course, Mollymook Beachside Golf Course, Kioloa Sporting Complex, Milton Showground, various beaches, several state forests and numerous schools.

Included areas

Planning Area 5 encompasses the localities of Bawley Point, Bendalong, Berringer Lake, Burrill Lake, Cockwhy, Conjola, Conjola Park, Croobyar, Cunjurong Point, Depot Beach, Dolphin Point, Durras North, East Lynne, Fishermans Paradise, Kings Point, Kioloa, Lake Conjola, Lake Tabourie, Manyana, Milton, Mollymook, Mollymook Beach, Mondayong, Narrawallee, Pebbly Beach, Pointer Mountain, Pretty Beach, Termeil, Ulladulla, Woodburn, Woodstock and Yatte Yattah.