Shoalhaven City CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Planning area 4

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Planning area 4 is 4,394, with a population density of 1.10 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Planning Area 4 is bounded by the locality of Tullarwalla and the Tullarwalla Inlet in the north, St Georges Basin, the Sussex Inlet and the Tasman Sea in the east, Berrara Creek in the south, and the locality of Mondayong in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the late 1860s, with land used mainly for dairy farming and timber getting. Population was minimal until the 1880s. Significant development did not occur until the 1960s, with the most rapid growth from the 1980s. The population continued to increase during the 1990s and then was relatively stable between 2001 and 2011. Recent growth has been mainly in Sussex Inlet.

Land use

Planning Area 4 is a rural and residential area. Predominate industries include retail and tourism. The majority of the workforce commutes to Nowra/Bomaderry or Milton/Ulladulla. Area 4 has a median age of 55 and covers over 13,000 hectares.

Major features

Major features of the area include St Georges Basin, Swan Lake, Conjola National Park, Sussex Inlet Aquatic Centre, Sussex Inlet Golf Club, Berrara Headland, Berrara Lagoon Reserve, Errol Bond Reserve, Finkemagel Oval, Jacob Elimoos Reserve, Sussex Inlet Lions Park, Third Avenue Reserve, Thompson Street Sports Complex, various beaches and one school.

Included areas

Planning Area 4 encompasses the localities of Berrara, Cudmirrah, Sussex Inlet and Swanhaven.