Shoalhaven City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Planning area 1

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Planning area 1 is 45,757, with a population density of 0.96 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Planning Area 1 is bounded by the localities of Kangaroo Valley, Wattamolla, Woodhill and Barren Grounds and the Municipality of Kiama in the north, the Tasman Sea in the east, the Crookhaven River, the locality of Comberton, the Princes Highway, the locality of Falls Creek, Currambene Creek and the locality of Parma in the south, and the locality of Yerriyong, Calymea Creek, the Shoalhaven River, the localities of Illaroo, Budgong, Browns Mountain and Red Rocks in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from 1822 when the first land grant was made. Land was used mainly for timber getting and dairy farming. The township of Nowra was established in 1852. Population was minimal until the late 1800s. Significant development did not occur until the 1970s. The population continued to increase from the early 1990s, a result of new dwellings being added to the area, particularly in Worrigee.

Land use

Planning Area 1 is a rural, rural residential and residential area, with some industrial areas. Planning Area 1 includes the townships of Nowra and Bomaderry, the City's largest commercial, retail and residential area. Planning Area 1 encompasses a total land area of about 2,026 square kilometres, and houses nearly half of Shoalhaven City's population. Predominate industries include manufacturing, retail, tourism, government, defence and agriculture. The majority of the workforce commutes with in Area 1 or to Kiama, Shellharbour or Wollongong LGA's. Area 1 has a median age of 40 years and covers over 202,000 hectares.

Major features

Major features of the area include Nowra Central Business District, Stockland Nowra (shopping centre), Shoalhaven City Council Administrative Centre, TAFE NSW Illawarra Institute (Nowra Campus), University of Wollongong (Shoalhaven Campus), Seven Mile Beach National Park, the Shoalhaven River, HMAS Albatross, Fleet Air Arm Museum, Flinders Industrial Estate, Albatross Aviation Technology Park, Nowra Speedway, Nowra Golf and Recreation Club, Shoalhaven Heads Golf Club, Worrigee Links Golf Course, Bamarang Nature Reserve, Brundee Swamp Nature Reserve, Cambewarra Range Nature Reserve, Comerong Island Nature Reserve, Tapitallee Nature Reserve, Triplarina Nature Reserve, Wogamia Nature Reserve, Worrigee Nature Reserve, Shoalhaven District Memorial Hospital, Nowra Private Hospital, David Berry Hospital, Nowra Wildlife Park, Shoalhaven Camellia Gardens, Meerogal (historic home), Nowra Airport, various state forests, several wineries and numerous schools.

Included areas

Planning Area 1 encompasses the localities of Back Forest, Bamarang, Bangalee, Beaumont, Bellawongarah, Berry, Berry Mountain, Bolong, Bomaderry, Broughton, Broughton Vale, Brundee, Bundewallah, Cambewarra, Cambewarra Village, Comerong Island, Coolangatta, Far Meadow, Greenwell Point, Jaspers Brush, Longreach, Mayfield, Meroo Meadow, Mundamia, North Nowra, Nowra, Nowra Hill, Numbaa, Pyree, Shoalhaven Heads, South Nowra, Tapitallee, Terara, Watersleigh, West Nowra and Worrigee, and the Shoalhaven City part of the locality of Broughton Village.