Rockhampton Regional CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content


Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to Rockhampton (+497) was from Central Highlands (R), whilst the highest net loss (-681) was to Brisbane (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of Rockhampton is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding Rockhampton's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Rockhampton - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Central Highlands (R)1,011514+497
Banana (S)534245+289
Isaac (R)395210+185
North Burnett (R)11141+70
Barcaldine (R)10639+67
Mackay (R)418358+60
Longreach (R)8330+53
Mount Isa (C)9946+53
Darwin (C)7931+48
Maranoa (R)5814+44
Tablelands (R)7036+34
Katherine (T)357+28
Greater Geelong (C)4113+28
Gladstone (R)462438+24
Somerset (R)4319+24
Casey (C)329+23
Logan (C)187165+22
Blackall Tambo (R)299+20
Western Downs (R)9880+18
Burdekin (S)3317+16
Launceston (C)259+16
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)160+16
Litchfield (M)238+15
Hume (C)150+15
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)206+14
Southern Downs (R)5743+14
Warrumbungle Shire (A)130+13
Greater Bendigo (C)218+13
Orange (C)174+13
Dubbo (C)196+13
Moreland (C)153+12
Woorabinda (S)197+12
Campbelltown (C)164+12
Blacktown (C)3624+12
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)164+12
Wollongong (C)3019+11
Northern Midlands (M)110+11
Wanneroo (C)209+11
Latrobe (C)100+10
Frankston (C)144+10
Glen Eira (C)133+10
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)100+10
Cowra (A)100+10
Singleton (A)2212+10
Richmond Valley (A)145+9
Wagga Wagga (C)2213+9
Holroyd (C)123+9
Broken Hill (C)90+9
Ballarat (C)189+9
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)2415+9
Auburn (C)90+9
Cassowary Coast (R)5243+9
Liverpool (C)1810+8
Burnie (C)113+8
Kingborough (M)80+8
Mount Gambier (C)113+8
Penrith (C)136+7
Bourke (A)70+7
Roper Gulf (S)70+7
Boulia (S)70+7
Ryde (C)103+7
Albany (C)70+7
McKinlay (S)103+7
Tatiara (DC)70+7
Flinders (S)70+7
Central Goldfields (S)70+7
Wyong (A)2215+7
Griffith (C)70+7
Cessnock (C)93+6
Wentworth (A)60+6
Dardanup (S)60+6
Coffs Harbour (C)1610+6
Greater Dandenong (C)60+6
West Arnhem (S)60+6
Gosford (C)93+6
Temora (A)60+6
Hay (A)60+6
Gloucester (A)60+6
Greater Taree (C)1812+6
Murray (A)60+6
Barcoo (S)60+6
Warrnambool (C)93+6
Coonamble (A)60+6
Balonne (S)93+6
Horsham (RC)60+6
Adelaide Hills (DC)60+6
Serpentine-Jarrahdale (S)60+6
Loxton Waikerie (DC)60+6
Dandaragan (S)60+6
Cobar (A)60+6
Wangaratta (RC)104+6
Junee (A)60+6
Gympie (R)8478+6
Canada Bay (A)60+6
Tamworth Regional (A)2216+6
Mundaring (S)94+5
Narrabri (A)94+5
Hornsby (A)83+5
Charles Sturt (C)94+5
Clarence Valley (A)1510+5
Wellington (S)83+5
Wyndham (C)83+5
Cherbourg (S)73+4
Maitland (C)1612+4
Queanbeyan (C)106+4
Lismore (C)95+4
Tenterfield (A)106+4
Cockburn (C)106+4
Port Phillip (C)73+4
Murweh (S)2421+3
Tumut Shire (A)74+3
Mid-Western Regional (A)63+3
Cook (S)129+3
Knox (C)63+3
Maroondah (C)63+3
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)63+3
Central Coast (M)97+2
Greater Shepparton (C)64+2
Eurobodalla (A)97+2
Whitehorse (C)97+2
Blue Mountains (C)1311+2
Canterbury (C)75+2
Kyogle (A)64+2
Palmerston (C)2018+2
Yarra Ranges (S)97+2
Hawkesbury (C)87+1
Albury (C)76+1
Guyra (A)65+1
Cardinia (S)76+1
Rockingham (C)12120
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)660
Meander Valley (M)660
Boroondara (C)770
Alice Springs (T)22220
Torres (S)660
Mosman (A)660
Barkly (S)660
Camden (A)990
Kwinana (T)67-1
Leichhardt (A)56-1
Armidale Dumaresq (A)1112-1
Mandurah (C)89-1
Gold Coast (C)253255-2
Ashfield (A)46-2
Unincorporated NT46-2
Glenorchy (C)1012-2
Barossa (DC)36-3
Goondiwindi (R)1821-3
Huon Valley (M)912-3
Joondalup (C)912-3
Holdfast Bay (C)36-3
Mornington Peninsula (S)69-3
Shellharbour (C)69-3
Weipa (T)36-3
Newcastle (C)1922-3
Ku-ring-gai (A)36-3
The Hills Shire (A)47-3
Inverell (A)913-4
Mildura (RC)812-4
Banyule (C)610-4
Hobsons Bay (C)59-4
Ballina (A)38-5
South Burnett (R)9499-5
North Sydney (A)38-5
No usual address (NSW)06-6
Warren (A)06-6
Glenelg (S)06-6
East Pilbara (S)39-6
Busselton (S)06-6
Broome (S)06-6
Murray Bridge (RC)06-6
Northern Grampians (S)06-6
Scenic Rim (R)3642-6
Moonee Valley (C)06-6
Gilgandra (A)06-6
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)06-6
Randwick (C)612-6
Copper Coast (DC)06-6
West Coast (M)06-6
South Perth (C)06-6
Burnside (C)39-6
Quilpie (S)39-6
West Torrens (C)39-6
Melbourne (C)310-7
Hobart (C)310-7
Cairns (R)180187-7
Bass Coast (S)07-7
Monash (C)08-8
Rockdale (C)715-8
Moira (S)413-9
Onkaparinga (C)09-9
Gwydir (A)09-9
Alexandrina (DC)09-9
Victor Harbor (C)09-9
Playford (C)615-9
Palerang (A)09-9
Unincorporated SA09-9
Wodonga (RC)09-9
Bombala (A)09-9
Melton (S)09-9
Liverpool Plains (A)09-9
Yass Valley (A)09-9
Deniliquin (A)09-9
Bunbury (C)09-9
Clarence (C)716-9
Hindmarsh (S)09-9
Victoria Park (T)09-9
Snowy River (A)09-9
Manningham (C)010-10
Canning (C)313-10
Port Stephens (A)010-10
Yarra (C)010-10
Gosnells (C)011-11
Bathurst Regional (A)011-11
Stonnington (C)314-11
Sydney (C)1123-12
Harvey (S)012-12
Wingecarribee (A)012-12
Hinchinbrook (S)1831-13
Port Hedland (T)922-13
Stirling (C)317-14
Sutherland Shire (A)014-14
Lockyer Valley (R)2741-14
Shoalhaven (C)621-15
Tweed (A)1934-15
Ipswich (C)132148-16
Whitsunday (R)8299-17
Lake Macquarie (C)2038-18
Charters Towers (R)1031-21
Swan (C)325-22
Bundaberg (R)294319-25
Redland (C)79109-30
Unincorporated ACT3280-48
No usual address (Qld)1885-67
Toowoomba (R)194269-75
Fraser Coast (R)206321-115
Sunshine Coast (R)282415-133
Townsville (C)268423-155
Moreton Bay (R)268433-165
Rockhampton (R)1,5661,981-415
Brisbane (C)7561,437-681
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.