Rockhampton Regional CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Mount Morgan District

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Mount Morgan District is 2,981, with a population density of 0.06 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Mount Morgan District is bounded by the localities of Bushley, Stanwell and Bouldercombe in the north, the locality of Bajool in the east, and Banana Shire in the south and west.

Name origin

Mount Morgan is named after the Morgan family, original claimants of gold mining leases in the area.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from 1855, with land used mainly for cattle grazing. A gold mine was established in 1884, becoming one of the world's richest mines. The township of Mount Morgan grew in the late 1880s, aided by the construction of the railway line in 1898. By 1902, the focus of mining had changed to silver and copper, with copper mining continuing until 1981. The most significant residential development occurred during the 1950s and 1960s. The population was relatively stable between the 1970s and the 1990s. The population fluctuated slightly from the early 1990s, a result of small changes in dwelling stock, the average number of persons living in each dwelling and dwelling occupancy rates.

Land use

Mount Morgan District includes the township of Mount Morgan, and surrounding rural-residential and rural areas.

Major features

Major features of the area include Mount Hopeful Conservation Park, Gelobera State Forest, Boyd Park Sporting Complex, Mount Morgan Hospital, Mount Morgan Railway Museum, Mount Morgan Historical Museum, Arthur Timms Lookout, Mount Morgan Swimming Pool, the Dee River, Boyd Park, Newman Park and several schools.

Included areas

Mount Morgan District encompasses the localities of Baree, Boulder Creek, Fletcher Creek, Hamilton Creek, Horse Creek, Johnsons Hill, Leydens Hill, Limestone, Moongan, Mount Morgan, Nine Mile Creek, Oakey Creek, Struck Oil, The Mine, Trotter Creek, Walmul, Walterhall and Wura.