Redland City CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Redland City

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to Redland City (+2,364) was from Brisbane (C), whilst the highest net loss (-563) was to Gold Coast (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of Redland City is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding Redland City's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Redland City - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Brisbane (C)8,4956,131+2,364
Unincorporated ACT267155+112
Sutherland Shire (A)11821+97
Penrith (C)8626+60
Campbelltown (C)560+56
Blacktown (C)10954+55
The Hills Shire (A)8233+49
Hornsby (A)473+44
Port Stephens (A)5613+43
Liverpool (C)509+41
Lismore (C)5921+38
Camden (A)5416+38
Queanbeyan (C)446+38
Greater Geelong (C)7032+38
Greater Taree (C)5519+36
Coffs Harbour (C)8248+34
Fairfield (C)320+32
Holroyd (C)376+31
Frankston (C)5221+31
Rockdale (C)376+31
Parramatta (C)4212+30
Canada Bay (A)366+30
Central Highlands (R)9666+30
Warringah (A)6031+29
Wollondilly (A)323+29
Moonee Valley (C)313+28
Mackay (R)211184+27
Swan (C)303+27
Bellingen (A)336+27
Bankstown (C)4216+26
Gosford (C)7248+24
Wanneroo (C)5834+24
Marion (C)3410+24
Whitehorse (C)339+24
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)3613+23
Yarra Ranges (S)309+21
Blue Mountains (C)3110+21
Lane Cove (A)210+21
Wollongong (C)6242+20
Wagga Wagga (C)3212+20
Whittlesea (C)299+20
Clarence (C)267+19
Ryde (C)2910+19
Kingston (C)3112+19
Bathurst Regional (A)213+18
Cassowary Coast (R)279+18
Logan (C)2,4322,414+18
Tablelands (R)4628+18
Tea Tree Gully (C)3013+17
Maroondah (C)269+17
Melton (S)3822+16
Pittwater (A)259+16
Manly (A)160+16
Nillumbik (S)259+16
Cessnock (C)2813+15
Randwick (C)3621+15
Wyong (A)6146+15
Young (A)150+15
Armidale Dumaresq (A)217+14
Lake Macquarie (C)6046+14
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)217+14
Joondalup (C)4027+13
Charles Sturt (C)3118+13
Burnie (C)130+13
South Gippsland (S)130+13
Wyndham (C)3522+13
Wellington (S)163+13
Hinchinbrook (S)196+13
Hawkesbury (C)2512+13
Orange (C)196+13
Eurobodalla (A)163+13
Latrobe (C)130+13
Knox (C)4230+12
Willoughby (C)186+12
Moree Plains (A)120+12
Hurstville (C)153+12
Latrobe (M)120+12
MacDonnell (S)120+12
Palmerston (C)4231+11
Rockhampton (R)157146+11
Ku-ring-gai (A)3019+11
Shellharbour (C)143+11
Bayside (C)209+11
Banyule (C)2212+10
Woollahra (A)166+10
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)2515+10
Canterbury (C)2818+10
Banana (S)4434+10
Burdekin (S)90+9
Wodonga (RC)189+9
Glenorchy (C)123+9
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)90+9
Port Lincoln (C)90+9
West Torrens (C)123+9
Fremantle (C)123+9
Canning (C)123+9
Gwydir (A)90+9
Griffith (C)90+9
Mid-Western Regional (A)90+9
North Sydney (A)2213+9
Ballarat (C)3021+9
Benalla (RC)90+9
Greater Bendigo (C)2213+9
West Tamar (M)156+9
Parkes (A)80+8
Botany Bay (C)157+8
Kalamunda (S)157+8
Onkaparinga (C)4638+8
Salisbury (C)136+7
Melville (C)103+7
Yarra (C)103+7
Cherbourg (S)70+7
Tenterfield (A)1912+7
Wakool (A)93+6
Tumut Shire (A)60+6
Upper Hunter Shire (A)60+6
Darebin (C)126+6
Blayney (A)60+6
Gunnedah (A)93+6
Murrumbidgee (A)60+6
Narrabri (A)60+6
Kogarah (C)1610+6
Leeton (A)60+6
Junee (A)60+6
Murrindindi (S)60+6
Wagin (S)60+6
Central Highlands (M)60+6
Northern Midlands (M)60+6
Victor Harbor (C)60+6
Renmark Paringa (DC)60+6
Mitcham (C)159+6
Holdfast Bay (C)93+6
Derby-West Kimberley (S)60+6
Alice Springs (T)93+6
Serpentine-Jarrahdale (S)94+5
Adelaide Hills (DC)116+5
Maitland (C)2015+5
Hunters Hill (A)73+4
Ashfield (A)139+4
Ballina (A)6258+4
Greater Dandenong (C)1511+4
Warrumbungle Shire (A)73+4
Shoalhaven (C)3531+4
Mount Barker (DC)73+4
Litchfield (M)139+4
Roper Gulf (S)63+3
Armadale (C)63+3
Bunbury (C)63+3
Kwinana (T)63+3
Esperance (S)74+3
Victoria Park (T)63+3
Glamorgan/Spring Bay (M)74+3
Yass Valley (A)63+3
Brimbank (C)1310+3
Horsham (RC)63+3
Macedon Ranges (S)1310+3
Moira (S)63+3
Dubbo (C)96+3
Lithgow (C)85+3
Palerang (A)63+3
Kempsey (A)2321+2
Glen Eira (C)97+2
Gosnells (C)1513+2
Playford (C)64+2
Unincorporated NT1917+2
Whitsunday (R)6766+1
Corangamite (S)65+1
Singleton (A)76+1
Sydney (C)2928+1
Bega Valley (A)98+1
Marrickville (A)18180
Hobsons Bay (C)12120
Launceston (C)40400
Moorabool (S)1011-1
Mildura (RC)1112-1
Tamworth Regional (A)2122-1
Leichhardt (A)1213-1
Auburn (C)1617-1
Broken Hill (C)910-1
Inverell (A)1921-2
Mornington Peninsula (S)3032-2
Richmond (S)46-2
North Burnett (R)1215-3
Charters Towers (R)1821-3
Sorell (M)69-3
Southern Midlands (M)36-3
Burnside (C)69-3
Cambridge (T)69-3
Mosman (A)69-3
Nambucca (A)1316-3
Temora (A)36-3
Wellington (A)36-3
Cowra (A)37-4
Devonport (C)37-4
Hobart (C)1015-5
Bayswater (C)49-5
Warrnambool (C)38-5
Glen Innes Severn (A)1015-5
Burwood (A)611-5
Kyogle (A)2227-5
Greater Shepparton (C)914-5
Indigo (S)39-6
Mitchell (S)612-6
Gannawarra (S)06-6
Snowy River (A)06-6
Narrandera (A)06-6
Lockhart (A)06-6
Berrigan (A)39-6
Towong (S)06-6
Wangaratta (RC)06-6
Flinders (S)06-6
Barossa (DC)06-6
Murweh (S)915-6
Quilpie (S)06-6
Belmont (C)612-6
Grant (DC)06-6
Dorset (M)39-6
Kingborough (M)1521-6
Derwent Valley (M)714-7
Maribyrnong (C)613-7
No usual address (NSW)07-7
Uralla (A)07-7
Campaspe (S)07-7
Boroondara (C)1825-7
Richmond Valley (A)1927-8
Albury (C)412-8
Stirling (C)2028-8
Greater Geraldton08-8
Geraldton-Greenough (C)08-8
Unley (C)312-9
Huon Valley (M)312-9
Kentish (M)09-9
Barcaldine (R)312-9
Weipa (T)09-9
Cook (S)09-9
Guyra (A)09-9
Murray (A)312-9
Hume (C)1524-9
Katherine (T)09-9
Manningham (C)1525-10
Bass Coast (S)010-10
Waverley (A)616-10
Newcastle (C)2838-10
Goondiwindi (R)1727-10
Paroo (S)011-11
George Town (M)617-11
Cockburn (C)1223-11
Longreach (R)315-12
Casey (C)3042-12
Baw Baw (S)619-13
Townsville (C)221234-13
Cloncurry (S)013-13
West Coast (M)316-13
Meander Valley (M)316-13
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)013-13
East Pilbara (S)015-15
Gladstone (R)122137-15
Balonne (S)925-16
Moreland (C)925-16
South Burnett (R)8299-17
Cardinia (S)1330-17
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)3957-18
Great Lakes (A)321-18
Ashburton (S)018-18
Central Coast (M)321-18
Mount Isa (C)4665-19
Stonnington (C)020-20
No usual address (WA)020-20
Darwin (C)5781-24
Wingecarribee (A)935-26
Port Phillip (C)331-28
Monash (C)938-29
Byron (A)1950-31
Isaac (R)3870-32
Port Hedland (T)1245-33
Rockingham (C)2357-34
Tweed (A)149184-35
Roebourne (S)036-36
Western Downs (R)4786-39
Maranoa (R)646-40
Melbourne (C)1656-40
Mandurah (C)041-41
Cairns (R)180236-56
Scenic Rim (R)163226-63
Clarence Valley (A)49120-71
Somerset (R)72162-90
Toowoomba (R)254346-92
No usual address (Qld)26126-100
Ipswich (C)444556-112
Bundaberg (R)139257-118
Southern Downs (R)65191-126
Lockyer Valley (R)86222-136
Gympie (R)60196-136
Fraser Coast (R)204422-218
Moreton Bay (R)7261,158-432
Sunshine Coast (R)497979-482
Gold Coast (C)9171,480-563
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.