Redland City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Southern Moreton Bay Islands

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Southern Moreton Bay Islands is 6,295, with a population density of 1.67 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Southern Moreton Bay Islands are a collection of islands located between the Australian mainland and North Stradbroke Island.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1860s, with land used mainly for farming and timber-getting. Significant residential development did not occur until the 1970s when land was subdivided. Rapid growth has taken place since the early 1990s, with the population more than trebling between 1991 and 2011 as large numbers of new dwellings were added to the area and the proportion of occupied dwellings increased.

Land use

Southern Moreton Bay Islands includes growing residential and holiday areas on the inhabited areas of Karragarra Island, Lamb Island, Macleay Island and Russell Island, as well as several smaller uninhabited islands. Macleay and Russell Islands have the largest populations, with much smaller populations at Karragarra and Lamb Islands.

Major features

Major features of the area include Moreton Bay Marine Park, Bay Islands Golf Club, Fern Terrace Bushland Refuge, Midjee Street Wetlands, Paul Carter Wetlands, Thomas Street Wetlands, Tim Shea's Waterhole Wetlands, Turtle Swamp Wetlands, Whistling Kite Wetlands, Russell Island Pool, Attunga Street Park, Corroboree Place Park, Ian Ward Park, Jacksons Oval Reserve, Jock Kennedy Park, Karragarra Island Community Park, Karragarra Island Foreshore Park, Lions Boulevard Park, Macleay Island Community Park, Palm Beach Park, Pats Park, Pioneer Park, The Bay Islands Pioneer Children’s Memorial Park, Macleay Island Community Hall, Pioneer Hall (Lamb Island), Russell Island Recreation Hall, Stradbroke Ferries and two schools.

Included areas

Southern Moreton Bay Islands includes the localities of Karragarra Island, Lamb Island, Macleay Island (which also includes Perulpa Island) and Russell Island, and several smaller islands (Garden Island, Lagoon Island, Long Island, Pannikin Island, Snipe Island and Willes Island). Southern Moreton Bay Islands excludes North Stradbroke Island and Peel Island.