RDA Northern TerritoryCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Unincorporated NT

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Unincorporated NT is 6,761, with a population density of 0.00 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Unincorporated Northern Territory includes four separate sections which are not included in any of the seventeen Cities, Shires or Council areas in the Northern Territory. Area 1 is the locality of Yulara, located in the south of the Territory, bounded entirely by the MacDonnell Regional Council area. Area 2 (East Arm) is located just south-east of Darwin, bounded by the City of Darwin and the Litchfield Council area in the north, the City of Palmerston in the east, the Litchfield Council area in the south, and Port Darwin in the west. Area 3 is located west of Darwin, bounded by the Litchfield Council area and the Coomalie Community Government Council area in the east, the Victoria Daly Regional Council area and the West Daly Regional Council area in the south, and the Timor Sea in the north and west. Area 4 is located east of Darwin, bounded by Van Diemen Gulf in the north, the West Arnhem Regional Council area in the east, the Victoria Daly Regional Council area in the south, and the Coomalie Community Government Council area and the Litchfield Council area in the west.

Name origin

The original inhabitants of Unincorporated Northern Territory were various Aboriginal tribes.

Settlement history

Traditionally, indigenous people lived in the area, and continue to do so, mainly in small communities. European settlement dates from 1869, with land used mainly for grazing or other pastoral purposes. The areas closest to Darwin (near Port Darwin) developed from the 1940s. Ayers Rock Resort (Yulara township) was built in 1984 to cater for the needs of the tourist industry associated with the nearby attractions of Uluru (Ayers Rock) and Kata Tjuta (The Olgas). Ayers Rock Resort is able to accommodate 5,000 people per day, plus a resident population, in various forms of accommodation. The Berrimah Prison operated in the area south-east of Darwin from 1979 to 2014, housing about 750 people until it was replaced by Darwin Correctional Centre. The population of the area declined slightly during the early 1990s, falling from about 5,100 in 1991 to 4,400 in 1996. The population then generally increased, particularly from 2006, rising to about 6,700 in 2011. Growth is expected to continue, particularly from the Darwin Waterfront mixed use development.

Land use

Unincorporated Northern Territory includes rural areas, maritime and industrial areas around East Arm, resort and holiday areas, and small communities. Rural land is used for cattle grazing, with some horticulture and fishing. Tourism is also an important industry. Unincorporated Northern Territory encompasses a total land area of nearly 20,000 square kilometres.


Unincorporated Northern Territory is served by the Stuart Highway, Darwin Port and The Ghan train.

Major features

Major features of the area include Charles Darwin National Park, Djukbinj National Park, Litchfield National Park, Mary River National Park, Ayers Rock Resort, Tjuwaliyn (Douglas) Hot Springs Park, Butterfly Gorge Nature Park, Douglas River Esplanade Conservation Area, Channel Point Coastal Reserve, Leaning Tree Lagoon Nature Park, Robbie Robins Reserve, Darwin City Waterfront, the Darwin Harbour, Darwin Port, Darwin Convention Centre, Wave Lagoon, Recreation Lagoon, Sky Bridge, East Arm Wharf, Fort Hill Wharf, Stokes Hill Wharf, Darwin Train Station, Charles Darwin University (Darwin Waterfront Centre), Don Dale Youth Detention Centre, Berrimah Research Farm, Mulgara Gallery and Wongabilla Equestrian Centre.

Indigenous background

Unincorporated Northern Territory includes the localities of Berrimah (part), Burrundie (part), Bynoe, Charles Darwin (part), Charlotte, Cox Peninsula, Daly River (part), Darwin City (part), Douglas-Daly (part), Dundee Beach, Dundee Downs, Dundee Forest, East Arm, Elrundie, Fleming, Hidden Valley (part), Hotham, Litchfield Park, Margaret River, Marrakai, Mount Bundey, Point Stuart, Rakula, Tivendale, Wishart and Yulara.


Note: this area differs to that defined by the ABS as Unincorporated Northern Territory as it does not include the localities of Alyangula and Nhulunbuy, which for the purposes of this profile are included in the Developing East Arnhem Limited area.