RDA Northern TerritoryCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Victoria Daly Regional Council LGA

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Victoria Daly Regional Council LGA is 3,204, with a population density of 0.00 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Victoria Daly Regional Council area is located in the north-western section of the Northern Territory, between 120 and 650 kilometres south of the Darwin CBD. The Victoria Daly Regional Council area is bounded by Unincorporated Northern Territory, the Coomalie Community Government Council area and the West Arnhem Regional Council area in the north, the Roper Gulf Regional Council area, the Katherine Town Council area and the Barkly Regional Council area in the east, the Central Desert Regional Council area in the south, the State of Western Australia in the south-west, and the Timor Sea and the West Daly Regional Council area in the north-west.

Name origin

Victoria Daly Regional Council is named after the Victoria and Daly Rivers which are located in the area.

Settlement history

Traditionally, indigenous people lived in the area, and continue to do so, mainly in small communities. European settlement dates from 1871, following the building of the Overland Telegraph Line, linking Australia with Europe, although the area was first explored in the 1860s. Growth took place during the 1870s and 1880s, especially in Pine Creek, spurred by the establishment of mining and the construction of the railway line. Land was used mainly for grazing or other pastoral activities. Further expansion took place from the 1950s, aided by growth in the tourism industry. The population increased during the late 1990s, rising from about 3,100 in 1996 to about 3,600 in 2001. The population was then relatively stable to 2011.

Land use

The Victoria Daly Regional Council area is mainly rural, with some defence areas, and a number of small townships and indigenous communities, including Kalkarindji, Nauiyu, Pine Creek, Timber Creek and Yarralin. At least half the population are Aboriginal. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 153,000 square kilometres. Rural land is used largely for pastoral purposes (cattle grazing), with some tourism along the Daly and Victoria Rivers.


The Council area is served by the Buntine Highway, the Kakadu Highway, the Stuart Highway and the Victoria Highway.

Major features

Major features of the Council area include Judbarra/Gregory National Park (including Limestone Gorge), Keep River National Park, Umbrawarra Gorge Nature Park, Daly River (Mt Nancar) Conservation Area, Giwining/Flora River Nature Park, Pine Creek Railway Station & Train Museum, Merrepen Arts Centre, Bradshaw Field Training Area (Defence Force), Delamere Air Weapons Range, Mount Nancar Wilderness Retreat, the Daly River and the Victoria River.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Victoria Daly area were various Aboriginal peoples who continue to live throughout the area and have strong traditional ties with the land.

Included areas

The Victoria Daly Regional Council area includes the townships, localities and communities of Baines, Bradshaw, Buchanan, Burrundie, Claravale (part), Daguragu, Daly River (part), Delamere, Douglas-Daly (part), Edith (part), Fleming, Gregory, Gurindji (part), Kalkarindji, Lajamanu (part), Maranunga, Nauiyu, Nemarluk (part), Pigeon Hole, Pine Creek, Timber Creek, Tipperary, Top Springs, Victoria River and Yarralin.


The Victoria Daly Regional Council area was modified on 1st July 2014 when it lost areas to form the new West Daly Regional Council area.