RDA Darling Downs and South West RegionCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Paroo Shire

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Paroo Shire is 1,686, with a population density of 0.00 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Paroo Shire is located in south-west Queensland, between 600 and 800 kilometres west of the Brisbane CBD. Paroo Shire is bounded by Quilpie Shire and Murweh Shire in the north, the Maranoa Regional Council area and Balonne Shire in the east, the New South Wales border in the south, and Bulloo Shire in the west.

Name origin

Paroo Shire is named after the Paroo River, which was thought to be named from an Aboriginal word indicating small flat fish.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1840s, although population was minimal until the 1860s, with land used mainly for sheep and cattle grazing. Growth took place during the late 1800s and early 1900s as small townships were established and opal mining started, aided by the opening of the railway line. The population reached about 2,400 in 1911. Growth took place during the post-war years, with the population rising from about 3,500 in 1933 to about 4,100 in 1954. The population then declined, falling to about 3,000 in 1976, and then to about 2,800 in 1991. The population continued to gradually decline from 1991, falling to about 2,100 in 2006. The population was then relatively stable between 2006 and 2011.

Land use

Paroo Shire is a predominantly rural area, with small townships at Cunnamulla, Eulo, Wyandra and Yowah. The Shire encompasses a total land area of nearly 48,000 square kilometres. Rural land is used largely for sheep and cattle grazing, with some cotton growing and honey production. Opal mining is also an important industry.


Paroo Shire is served by the Balonne Highway and the Mitchell Highway.

Major features

Major features of the Shire include Currawinya National Park, Culgoa Floodplain National Park, Yowah opal fields, Yowah Artesian Bore Baths, Artesian Mud Baths, Eulo Belle Arts and Opal Centre, PowerHouse Museum Wyandra, Cunnamulla Fella Centre (including Art Gallery, Artesian Time Tunnel and Museum), Cunnamulla Hospital, Cunnamulla Golf Club, Centenary Park, Cunnamulla Racecourse, Cunnamulla Showgrounds, John Kerr Park, Allan Tannock Weir and the Warrego River.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of Paroo Shire were the Baakandji and Budjiti Aboriginal people.

Included areas

Paroo Shire includes the localities of Barringun, Cunnamulla, Cuttaburra, Eulo, Homeburn, Hungerford (part), Jobs Gate, Nebine, Noorama, Tuen, Widgeegoara, Wyandra and Yowah.