Palerang CouncilCommunity profile
Skip to content

Palerang Council area

About the profile areas

The 2015 Estimated Resident Population for Palerang Council area is 15,897, with a population density of 0.03 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Palerang Council area is located in south-eastern New South Wales, between 30 and 100 kilometres east of Canberra and about 280 kilometres south-west of Sydney. The Palerang Council area is bounded by Upper Lachlan Shire and the Goulburn Mulwaree Council area in the north, Shoalhaven City and Eurobodalla Shire in the east, Cooma-Monaro Shire in the south, and the Australian Capital Territory, Queanbeyan City and the Yass Valley Council area in the west.

Name origin

Palerang is named after Mount Palerang. It was previously known as Eastern Capital City Regional Council.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1820s, with land used mainly for sheep and cattle farming. Several townships were established in the late 1830s. Population was minimal until the 1850s, spurred by gold discoveries and mining. Substantial growth took place in the 1880s, aided by the construction of the railway line. Significant development occurred during the post-war years, particularly from the 1970s. The population continued to increase from the 1990s, rising from about 8,000 in 1991 to nearly 15,000 in 2011.

Land use
Land use 3% 0% 21% 76%

Land use

The Palerang Council area is predominantly rural, with some rural-residential areas. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 5,100 square kilometres. The major town is Bungendore, followed by Braidwood and Captains Flat, with several smaller townships. Rural land is used mainly for cattle and sheep grazing, orchards and vineyards. Tourism is also an important industry.


The Palerang Council area is served by the Federal Highway, the Kings Highway and the southern railway line.

Major features

Major features of the Council area include Budawang National Park, Deua National Park, Gourock National Park, Monga National Park, Morton National Park, Tallaganda National Park, Yanununbeyan National Park, Lake George, Googong Dam, Monga State Forest, Tallaganda State Forest, Braidwood Historic Village, Bungedore Village, Araleun Nature Reserve, Bees Nest Nature Reserve, Burra Creek Nature Reserve, Goorooyarroo Nature Reserve, Nadgigomar Nature Reserve, Scott Nature Reserve, Tinderry Nature Reserve, Yanununbeyan Nature Reserve and numerous wineries.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Palerang area were the Ngarigu and Walbunja Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Palerang Council area includes the townships and rural localities of Araluen, Back Creek, Ballalaba, Bendoura, Berlang, Bombay, Boro, Braidwood, Budawang, Bungendore, Burra (part), Bywong (part), Captains Flat, Carwoola (part), Charleys Forest, Collector (part), Corang, Currawang (part), Durran Durra, Farringdon, Forbes Creek, Googong (part), Harolds Cross, Hereford Hall, Hoskinstown, Jembaicumbene, Jerrabattgulla, Jinden, Kindervale, Krawarree, Lake George (part), Larbert, Majors Creek, Manar, Marlowe, Mayfield, Monga, Mongarlowe, Mount Fairy, Mulloon, Neringla (part), Nerriga, Northangera, Oallen (part), Palerang, Primrose Valley, Reidsdale, Rossi, Royalla (part), Snowball (part), Sutton (part), Tarago (part), Tinderry (part), Tomboye, Urila, Wamboin, Warri, Williamsdale (part), Wog Wog, Wyanbene and Yarrow.