Orange City CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Cabonne Council area

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Cabonne Council area is 13,625, with a population density of 0.02 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Cabonne Council area is located in the Central Tablelands of New South Wales, about 290 kilometres west of the Sydney CBD. The Cabonne Council area is bounded by the Dubbo Regional Council area and the Mid-Western Regional Council area in the north, the Bathurst Regional Council area in the east, Orange City, Blayney Shire and Cowra Shire in the south, and Forbes Shire and Parkes Shire in the west.

Name origin

Cabonne is thought to be named from an Aboriginal word meaning "large".

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1820s. Land was used mainly for farming. The township of Molong was established in 1835. Settlement was minimal until the 1850s, following the discovery of gold at Ophir. Several townships were established in the 1850s and 1860s. Growth continued from the 1870s to the 1890s, aided by the gold rush. The most significant development occurred in the post-war years. The population was relatively stable during the 1990s at about 12,000 people, and then increased slightly to about 12,500 in 2011.

Land use

The Cabonne Council area is predominantly rural, with several small townships. Settlement is based in the townships of Canowindra, Cargo, Cudal, Cumnock, Eugowra, Manildra, Molong and Yeoval, and the smaller villages of Baldry, Borenore, Lewis Ponds, Mullion Creek, Nashdale and Toogong. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 6,000 square kilometres, of which a large proportion is national park, state conservation area and nature reserve. Much of the rural area is used for timber-getting, mining and farming, including sheep and cattle grazing, grain growing, orcharding and viticulture.


The Cabonne Council area is served by the Mitchell Highway.

Major features

Major features of the Council area include Lake Canobolas, Goobang National Park, Nangar National Park, Mount Canobolas State Conservation Area, Mullion Range State Conservation Area, Barton Nature Reserve, Freemantle Nature Reserve, Girralang Nature Reserve, Ophir Recreation Reserve, Borenore Caves, Tom's Waterhole, Escort Rock, Mount Canobolas, Yuranighs Aboriginal Grave Historic Site and various wineries.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Cabonne area were the Wiradjuri Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Cabonne Council area encompasses the localities of Amaroo, Baldry, Belgravia, Bocobra, Boomey, Boree, Borenore, Bowan Park, Bumberry, Byng, Cadia, Canobolas (part), Canowindra (part), Cargo, Clergate, Clifton Grove (part), Cudal, Cumnock, Emu Swamp (part), Eugowra (part), Eurimbla (part), Forest Reefs (part), Four Mile Creek, Garra, Gooloogong (part), Gowan (part), Gumble, Guyong (part), Kangaroobie, Kerrs Creek (part), Larras Lee, Lewis Ponds, Lidster, Lower Lewis Ponds, Mandagery (part), Manildra, March, Molong, Moorbel, Mullion Creek, Murga, Nashdale, Nyrang Creek, Obley, Ophir, Orange (part), Spring Hill (part), Spring Terrace (part), Springside (part), Summer Hill Creek, Toogong, Vittoria (part), Waldegrave, Windera, Yeoval and Yullundry.