City of OnkaparingaCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Onkaparinga

SEIFA - disadvantage by Local Government Area

In 2011, the City of Onkaparinga scored 993.4 on the SEIFA Index of Disadvantage.

The City of Onkaparinga SEIFA Index of Disadvantage measures the relative level of socio-economic disadvantage based on a range of Census characteristics. It is a good place to start to get a general view of the relative level of disadvantage in one area compared to others and is used to advocate for an area based on its level of disadvantage.

The index is derived from attributes that reflect disadvantage such as low income, low educational attainment, high unemployment, and jobs in relatively unskilled occupations.  When targeting services to disadvantaged communities, it is important to also look at these underlying characteristics as they can differ markedly between areas with similar SEIFA scores and shed light on the type of disadvantage being experienced.

A higher score on the index means a lower level of disadvantage. A lower score on the index means a higher level of disadvantage.

Index of Relative Socio-economic Disadvantage
Local Government Areas in South Australia
Local Government Area2011 index
Roxby Downs (M)1,095.5
Burnside (C)1,081.4
Adelaide Hills (DC)1,081.1
Mitcham (C)1,068.3
Walkerville (M)1,065.0
Unley (C)1,064.9
Kimba (DC)1,044.6
Prospect (C)1,041.7
Holdfast Bay (C)1,039.2
Tea Tree Gully (C)1,037.5
Mount Barker (DC)1,032.4
Light (RegC)1,025.7
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)1,024.8
Wudinna (DC)1,022.8
Grant (DC)1,018.4
Cleve (DC)1,017.6
Barossa (DC)1,017.2
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)1,015.2
Robe (DC)1,013.2
Adelaide (C)1,013.0
Campbelltown (C)1,010.7
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)1,002.2
Marion (C)999.7
West Torrens (C)997.7
Tatiara (DC)996.2
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)995.7
Onkaparinga (C)993.4
Orroroo/Carrieton (DC)993.3
Elliston (DC)990.8
Streaky Bay (DC)988.9
Southern Mallee (DC)988.4
Alexandrina (DC)987.1
Karoonda East Murray (DC)985.6
Kangaroo Island (DC)983.3
Mount Remarkable (DC)982.5
Northern Areas (DC)981.7
Mallala (DC)980.4
Tumby Bay (DC)979.9
Charles Sturt (C)976.2
Franklin Harbour (DC)975.4
Kingston (DC)975.4
Yankalilla (DC)972.2
Victor Harbor (C)968.0
Gawler (T)966.2
Flinders Ranges (DC)955.2
Barunga West (DC)954.5
Yorke Peninsula (DC)951.7
Port Lincoln (C)949.8
The Coorong (DC)948.7
Loxton Waikerie (DC)947.4
Wattle Range (DC)945.5
Goyder (DC)942.2
Wakefield (DC)941.7
Salisbury (C)936.7
Mid Murray (DC)936.7
Ceduna (DC)931.7
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)929.7
Copper Coast (DC)927.2
Mount Gambier (C)927.0
Unincorporated SA924.3
Renmark Paringa (DC)916.5
Port Augusta (C)905.8
Whyalla (C)905.5
Berri and Barmera (DC)904.0
Murray Bridge (RC)900.6
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)893.1
Playford (C)871.3
Coober Pedy (DC)869.6
Peterborough (DC)797.6
Maralinga Tjarutja (AC)692.2
Anangu Pitjantjatjara (AC)593.5
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing 2011. Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.