City of OnkaparingaCommunity profile
Skip to content

City of Onkaparinga

SEIFA - disadvantage by Local Government Area

In 2011, the City of Onkaparinga scored 993.4 on the SEIFA Index of Disadvantage.

The City of Onkaparinga SEIFA Index of Disadvantage measures the relative level of socio-economic disadvantage based on a range of Census characteristics. It is a good place to start to get a general view of the relative level of disadvantage in one area compared to others and is used to advocate for an area based on its level of disadvantage.

The index is derived from attributes that reflect disadvantage such as low income, low educational attainment, high unemployment, and jobs in relatively unskilled occupations.  When targeting services to disadvantaged communities, it is important to also look at these underlying characteristics as they can differ markedly between areas with similar SEIFA scores and shed light on the type of disadvantage being experienced.

A higher score on the index means a lower level of disadvantage. A lower score on the index means a higher level of disadvantage.

Index of Relative Socio-economic Disadvantage
Local Government Areas in South Australia
Local Government Area2011 index
Adelaide (C)1,013.0
Adelaide Hills (DC)1,081.1
Barossa (DC)1,017.2
Burnside (C)1,081.4
Campbelltown (C)1,010.7
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)1,002.2
Cleve (DC)1,017.6
Grant (DC)1,018.4
Holdfast Bay (C)1,039.2
Kimba (DC)1,044.6
Light (RegC)1,025.7
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)1,015.2
Marion (C)999.7
Mitcham (C)1,068.3
Mount Barker (DC)1,032.4
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)995.7
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)1,024.8
Prospect (C)1,041.7
Robe (DC)1,013.2
Roxby Downs (M)1,095.5
Tatiara (DC)996.2
Tea Tree Gully (C)1,037.5
Unley (C)1,064.9
Walkerville (M)1,065.0
West Torrens (C)997.7
Wudinna (DC)1,022.8
Onkaparinga (C)993.4
Alexandrina (DC)987.1
Anangu Pitjantjatjara (AC)593.5
Barunga West (DC)954.5
Berri and Barmera (DC)904.0
Ceduna (DC)931.7
Charles Sturt (C)976.2
Coober Pedy (DC)869.6
Copper Coast (DC)927.2
Elliston (DC)990.8
Flinders Ranges (DC)955.2
Franklin Harbour (DC)975.4
Gawler (T)966.2
Goyder (DC)942.2
Kangaroo Island (DC)983.3
Karoonda East Murray (DC)985.6
Kingston (DC)975.4
Loxton Waikerie (DC)947.4
Mallala (DC)980.4
Maralinga Tjarutja (AC)692.2
Mid Murray (DC)936.7
Mount Gambier (C)927.0
Mount Remarkable (DC)982.5
Murray Bridge (RC)900.6
Northern Areas (DC)981.7
Orroroo/Carrieton (DC)993.3
Peterborough (DC)797.6
Playford (C)871.3
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)929.7
Port Augusta (C)905.8
Port Lincoln (C)949.8
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)893.1
Renmark Paringa (DC)916.5
Salisbury (C)936.7
Southern Mallee (DC)988.4
Streaky Bay (DC)988.9
The Coorong (DC)948.7
Tumby Bay (DC)979.9
Victor Harbor (C)968.0
Wakefield (DC)941.7
Wattle Range (DC)945.5
Whyalla (C)905.5
Yankalilla (DC)972.2
Yorke Peninsula (DC)951.7
Unincorporated SA924.3
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing 2011. Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.