North Western Melbourne Primary Health NetworkCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Melbourne (part)

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for City of Melbourne (part) is 148,044, with a population density of 45.65 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Melbourne is the capital of Victoria. The City of Melbourne (part) is bounded by the Cities of Moonee Valley and Moreland in the north, the Cities of Yarra and Stonnington in the east, the City of Port Phillip, the Yarra River and the suburb of Port Melbourne in the south, and the City of Maribyrnong in the west.

Name origin

Melbourne was named after William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne, former Prime Minister of Great Britain.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1835, when a settlement was established along the Yarra River. The township of Melbourne was laid out in 1837, with growth during the mid 1800s, spurred by the gold rush. Rapid residential and industrial development took place during the late 1800s, and resumed again during the interwar period. From the early 1950s to the late 1980s the population halved, as residents moved outwards and industries and offices were constructed. This trend began to be reversed from the early 1990s, with the number of dwellings almost doubling during the 1990s, as many former industrial areas were redeveloped into residential areas. Much of the City underwent significant change, redevelopment, renewal, revitalisation and urban consolidation, leading to increased population and business activity. Factories, warehouses, wharves and railway lands were replaced with offices, businesses, technology centres, restaurants, shops, hotels, marinas, high density housing and parks. The population of the City increased significantly during the 1990s, rising from about 45,000 in 1991 to over 65,000 in 2001. The population increased at an even greater rate from 2001, rising to about 90,000 in 2006, and then to about 110,500 in 2011. Much of the recent growth is due to gentrification and the construction of high density housing. Population growth is expected to continue, largely as a result of redevelopment.

Land use

Melbourne is the capital of Victoria and the business, administrative, cultural and recreational hub of the state. The City of Melbourne (part) is a mixed use area, with residential, commercial, industrial, institutional, cultural, entertainment and tourist land uses, and substantial parklands. The City of Melbourne (part) encompasses a total land area of about 32 square kilometres.


The City of Melbourne (part) is served by Citylink, the Westgate Freeway, and numerous trains, trams and buses.

Major features

Major features of the City of Melbourne (part) include numerous retail and commercial areas (eg. The Melbourne CBD, Chinatown, Harbour Town, Lygon Street, Melbourne Central, Southbank Promenade, Spencer Outlet Centre, West End Plaza, Queen Victoria Market and Melbourne Wholesale Fruit, Vegetable & Flower Market), cultural and entertainment facilities (eg. Carlton Baths, City Baths, Crown Entertainment Complex, Dallas Brooks Centre, Eureka Skydeck 88, Federation Square, Festival Hall, IMAX Theatre, Immigration Museum & Discovery Centre, Melbourne Aquarium, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Melbourne Museum, Melbourne Zoo, National Gallery of Victoria, Royal Agricultural Showgrounds, Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, The Arts Centre, Westpac Centre and various theatres), sporting facilities (eg. Etihad Stadium, Flemington Racecourse, Hisense Arena, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne International Karting Complex, Olympic Park, Princes Park, Rod Laver Arena, Royal Park Golf Course, and State Netball and Hockey Centre), parks and gardens (eg. Alexandra Gardens, Birrarung Marr, Carlton Gardens, Fawkner Park, Fitzroy Gardens, Flagstaff Gardens, J.J. Holland Park, Kings Domain, Princes Park, Queen Victoria Gardens, Royal Botanic Gardens, Royal Park, Treasury Gardens and Yarra Park), health facilities (eg. Alfred Hospital, Epworth Freemasons, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, St Vincent’s Hospital, The Royal Children’s Hospital, The Royal Dental Hospital of Melbourne, The Royal Melbourne Hospital, The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital and The Royal Women’s Hospital), educational institutions (eg. Kangan Institute, La Trobe University, RMIT University, The University of Melbourne, Victoria University, William Angliss Institute of TAFE, other tertiary education facilities and private secondary schools), Victoria Harbour, the Maribyrnong River and the Yarra River.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the City of Melbourne (part) were the Kulin Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The City of Melbourne (part) encompasses the suburbs of Carlton, Docklands, East Melbourne, Kensington, North Melbourne, South Wharf and West Melbourne, and the City of Melbourne parts of the suburbs of Carlton North, Flemington, Melbourne, Parkville, Southbank and South Yarra.