City of NewcastleCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

City of Newcastle

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Newcastle (+361) was from Port Macquarie-Hastings (A), whilst the highest net loss (-256) was to Unincorporated ACT.

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Newcastle is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Newcastle's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Newcastle - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)583222+361
Greater Taree (C)567220+347
Tamworth Regional (A)444197+247
Dubbo (C)28173+208
Singleton (A)330152+178
Wyong (A)493334+159
Gosford (C)439286+153
Great Lakes (A)461315+146
Port Stephens (A)1,7131,589+124
Muswellbrook (A)20079+121
Kempsey (A)18176+105
Coffs Harbour (C)237144+93
Sutherland Shire (A)14365+78
Hornsby (A)209133+76
Armidale Dumaresq (A)12854+74
The Hills Shire (A)12148+73
Bathurst Regional (A)12250+72
Wollongong (C)16396+67
Penrith (C)13871+67
Blacktown (C)15589+66
Mid-Western Regional (A)12257+65
Upper Hunter Shire (A)12662+64
Gunnedah (A)10541+64
Nambucca (A)10239+63
Warringah (A)15697+59
Wagga Wagga (C)13579+56
Orange (C)11054+56
Blue Mountains (C)10048+52
Clarence Valley (A)10152+49
Pittwater (A)7829+49
Hawkesbury (C)8740+47
Gloucester (A)8037+43
Lithgow (C)453+42
Ku-ring-gai (A)139101+38
Bellingen (A)6226+36
Randwick (C)216180+36
Liverpool (C)7338+35
Liverpool Plains (A)449+35
Canterbury (C)8655+31
Townsville (C)12191+30
Campbelltown (C)8457+27
Manly (A)5630+26
Waverley (A)10276+26
Wellington (A)3610+26
Narromine (A)273+24
Auburn (C)5026+24
Cowra (A)296+23
Gilgandra (A)3411+23
Parkes (A)4522+23
Katherine (T)6138+23
Bega Valley (A)4220+22
Inverell (A)3514+21
Tea Tree Gully (C)3413+21
Fairfield (C)6141+20
Dungog (A)179159+20
Canada Bay (A)9474+20
Cabonne (A)244+20
Lismore (C)6040+20
Marrickville (A)169150+19
Hobart (C)4324+19
Greater Geelong (C)3618+18
Mornington Peninsula (S)279+18
Ryde (C)9173+18
Cobar (A)3012+18
Albury (C)4022+18
Eurobodalla (A)3012+18
Glen Innes Severn (A)224+18
Griffith (C)213+18
Kiama (A)3418+16
Botany Bay (C)3216+16
Shellharbour (C)3924+15
Western Downs (R)216+15
Willoughby (C)7864+14
Burwood (A)3218+14
Kogarah (C)3016+14
Forbes (A)219+12
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)3018+12
Coonamble (A)208+12
Young (A)197+12
Rockdale (C)5341+12
Melbourne (C)4533+12
Swan (C)2412+12
Clarence (C)198+11
Snowy River (A)2716+11
Parramatta (C)130119+11
Hurstville (C)4837+11
Blayney (A)155+10
Shoalhaven (C)4939+10
Oberon (A)166+10
Narrabri (A)3727+10
Wollondilly (A)2515+10
Temora (A)100+10
Mount Alexander (S)100+10
Redland (C)3828+10
West Tamar (M)166+10
Launceston (C)2112+9
Whitsunday (R)2415+9
Tumut Shire (A)123+9
Wingecarribee (A)3728+9
Bland (A)90+9
Bourke (A)90+9
Greater Hume Shire (A)90+9
Deniliquin (A)80+8
Alpine (S)179+8
Moorabool (S)80+8
Tweed (A)6053+7
Strathfield (A)3528+7
Junee (A)103+7
Hunters Hill (A)2216+6
Palerang (A)159+6
Walcha (A)60+6
Bass Coast (S)60+6
Casey (C)2721+6
Glenelg (S)60+6
Somerset (R)93+6
Longreach (R)60+6
Mosman Park (T)60+6
Albany (C)60+6
Augusta-Margaret River (S)60+6
West Torrens (C)126+6
Richmond Valley (A)2722+5
Cooma-Monaro (A)1611+5
Camden (A)2924+5
Warren (A)128+4
Upper Lachlan Shire (A)73+4
Tenterfield (A)73+4
Burnie (C)117+4
Monash (C)3228+4
Mitchell (S)139+4
Unincorporated NT139+4
West Coast (M)63+3
Greater Dandenong (C)96+3
Kingston (C)1916+3
Whittlesea (C)1815+3
East Fremantle (T)63+3
Bayswater (C)129+3
Adelaide Hills (DC)63+3
Ballarat (C)129+3
Cardinia (S)96+3
Moree Plains (A)4239+3
Cootamundra (A)74+3
Coolamon (A)63+3
Broken Hill (C)1210+2
Bankstown (C)5048+2
Ashfield (A)5048+2
Guyra (A)64+2
Tablelands (R)97+2
Adelaide (C)1412+2
South Burnett (R)97+2
Manningham (C)64+2
Wellington (S)1918+1
Whitehorse (C)1615+1
Mitcham (C)109+1
Lachlan (A)76+1
Bogan (A)1211+1
Leichhardt (A)104103+1
Walgett (A)2019+1
Uralla (A)12120
Kyogle (A)660
Onkaparinga (C)12120
Whyalla (C)660
Prospect (C)990
Joondalup (C)15150
Kwinana (T)990
Mandurah (C)12120
Mildura (RC)12120
Gladstone (R)27270
Kingborough (M)15150
Cassowary Coast (R)89-1
Southern Downs (R)910-1
Logan (C)6566-1
Glen Eira (C)2425-1
Charles Sturt (C)1920-1
Gwydir (A)1920-1
Warrumbungle Shire (A)3133-2
Yass Valley (A)1012-2
Queanbeyan (C)4143-2
Derwent Valley (M)57-2
Fremantle (C)1214-2
Frankston (C)79-2
Moonee Valley (C)2426-2
Glenorchy (C)46-2
Moreland (C)4952-3
Moira (S)36-3
Nillumbik (S)912-3
East Gippsland (S)36-3
Sunshine Coast (R)99102-3
Central Highlands (R)36-3
Cairns (R)5558-3
Gympie (R)69-3
Yarra Ranges (S)912-3
Banana (S)36-3
Marion (C)36-3
Kalamunda (S)47-3
No usual address (WA)36-3
Holdfast Bay (C)912-3
Campbelltown (C)36-3
Woollahra (A)4952-3
Weddin (A)69-3
Holroyd (C)3437-3
Harden (A)37-4
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)37-4
Armadale (C)37-4
Cockburn (C)812-4
Cambridge (T)913-4
Mount Isa (C)1216-4
Greater Bendigo (C)1822-4
Melton (S)610-4
Stonnington (C)2125-4
Surf Coast (S)610-4
Mackay (R)6166-5
Victoria Park (T)1015-5
Vincent (T)914-5
Bayside (C)1318-5
Meander Valley (M)49-5
Kentish (M)06-6
No usual address (NT)06-6
Roper Gulf (S)06-6
Campaspe (S)06-6
Lane Cove (A)4147-6
Mosman (A)1925-6
Brewarrina (A)06-6
South Perth (C)1521-6
Subiaco (C)1319-6
Central Coast (M)06-6
Gosnells (C)713-6
Roxby Downs (M)06-6
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)3844-6
Yorke Peninsula (DC)06-6
No usual address (SA)06-6
Loxton Waikerie (DC)06-6
Gawler (T)06-6
Burnside (C)915-6
Lockyer Valley (R)612-6
No usual address (Vic.)06-6
Warrnambool (C)06-6
Knox (C)915-6
Corangamite (S)06-6
Hume (C)1219-7
Light (RegC)07-7
Belmont (C)613-7
Ballina (A)4249-7
Devonport (C)614-8
Isaac (R)917-8
Latrobe (C)615-9
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)615-9
Broome (S)918-9
Ashburton (S)09-9
Port Lincoln (C)09-9
Scenic Rim (R)413-9
Litchfield (M)312-9
Alice Springs (T)2130-9
Barkly (S)09-9
Darwin (C)9099-9
East Pilbara (S)616-10
Hobsons Bay (C)1223-11
No usual address (Qld)617-11
Byron (A)3849-11
Leeton (A)1122-11
Central Darling (A)012-12
Bundaberg (R)2133-12
Maribyrnong (C)1527-12
Perth (C)012-12
Huon Valley (M)012-12
Stirling (C)2638-12
Unley (C)719-12
Salisbury (C)1023-13
Port Hedland (T)1226-14
Canning (C)620-14
Ipswich (C)5569-14
Banyule (C)1630-14
Boroondara (C)2539-14
Rockingham (C)924-15
Roebourne (S)1429-15
Wanneroo (C)924-15
Palmerston (C)1833-15
Toowoomba (R)3955-16
Wodonga (RC)925-16
Maroondah (C)622-16
Rockhampton (R)2239-17
Brimbank (C)928-19
Darebin (C)4061-21
Melville (C)630-24
Fraser Coast (R)2149-28
North Sydney (A)131159-28
Moreton Bay (R)5283-31
Port Phillip (C)5284-32
Playford (C)336-33
Wyndham (C)1957-38
Yarra (C)2571-46
Sydney (C)337432-95
No usual address (NSW)40139-99
Gold Coast (C)176299-123
Cessnock (C)528673-145
Brisbane (C)394556-162
Lake Macquarie (C)7,0877,294-207
Maitland (C)1,7111,935-224
Unincorporated ACT288544-256
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.