Shire of MundaringCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Outer Eastern region

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Outer Eastern region is 5,926, with a population density of 0.13 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Outer Eastern region is bounded by the City of Swan, Toodyay Road and the Shire of Toodyay in the north, the Shires of Northam and York in the east, the City of Kalamunda and the Mundaring Weir in the south and the locality of Mundaring, Eagle Street, Stevens Street, Jarrah Street, Stoneleigh Road, Horace Street, Sawyers Road, Alps Street, Lance Street, Houston Street, Sime Road, Thomas Street, Neptune Street, Frith Street and the locality of Mount Helena in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1840s, with land used mainly for farming and timber-cutting. Population was minimal until the late 1800s and early 1900s, when several small townships were established. The most significant development occurred in the post-war years, particularly during the 1970s and 1980s. The population has increased since the early 1990s, a result of new dwellings being added to the area.

Land use

Outer Eastern region is a predominantly rural area, with some rural-residential areas.

Major features

Major features of the area include Mundaring Weir, Lake C Y O'Connor, Beelu National Park, Wooroloo Regional Park, Lake Leschenaultia, Manaring Lake, Perth Hills National Parks Centre, Alps Street Reserve, Bailup Park, Beechina Nature Reserve, Beechina North Nature Reserve, Betty Street Reserve, Chidlow Oval, Chidlow Recreation Reserve, Chidlow Village Green, Clifton Park, Jarrah Creek Reserve, Needham Nature Reserve, Ron Evans Park, Sawyers Valley Oval, Karakamia Sanctuary, Wooroloo Prison Farm, Acacia Prison, Wooroloo Cemetery, El Caballo Resort, State Forest, the Railway Reserves Heritage Trail, various wineries and a number of schools.

Included areas

Outer Eastern region includes the localities of Bailup, Beechina, Chidlow, Gorrie, Malmalling, Sawyers Valley, The Lakes and Wooroloo.