District Council of Mount BarkerCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

District Council of Mount Barker

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the District Council of Mount Barker (+690) was from Adelaide Hills (DC), whilst the highest net loss (-402) was to Alexandrina (DC).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the District Council of Mount Barker is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the District Council of Mount Barker's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
District Council of Mount Barker - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Adelaide Hills (DC)1,251561+690
Onkaparinga (C)527296+231
Mitcham (C)314140+174
Tea Tree Gully (C)20575+130
Marion (C)230121+109
Salisbury (C)179108+71
Charles Sturt (C)183116+67
Unley (C)180117+63
Burnside (C)190130+60
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)173119+54
West Torrens (C)12879+49
Brisbane (C)7326+47
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)12377+46
Campbelltown (C)10466+38
Holdfast Bay (C)8548+37
Tatiara (DC)469+37
Alice Springs (T)5016+34
Unincorporated ACT4714+33
Mildura (RC)429+33
Roxby Downs (M)4523+22
Port Augusta (C)286+22
Prospect (C)4726+21
Sydney (C)210+21
Darwin (C)4525+20
Whyalla (C)3416+18
The Coorong (DC)4023+17
Banyule (C)170+17
Penrith (C)160+16
Glenelg (S)150+15
Mornington Peninsula (S)206+14
Renmark Paringa (DC)2915+14
Mount Gambier (C)4329+14
Derby-West Kimberley (S)140+14
Goyder (DC)218+13
Whitehorse (C)130+13
Macedon Ranges (S)130+13
Liverpool (C)130+13
Broken Hill (C)130+13
Playford (C)6452+12
Central Coast (M)120+12
Mount Alexander (S)110+11
Monash (C)110+11
Mansfield (S)100+10
Walkerville (M)166+10
Brighton (M)100+10
Palmerston (C)3021+9
Wattle Range (DC)156+9
Logan (C)2718+9
Mackay (R)189+9
Maroondah (C)90+9
Bundaberg (R)90+9
Hurstville (C)90+9
Tweed (A)90+9
Blue Mountains (C)70+7
Manningham (C)103+7
Northern Areas (DC)114+7
Cleve (DC)60+6
Berri and Barmera (DC)1812+6
Dungog (A)60+6
Griffith (C)60+6
Fairfield (C)60+6
Wentworth (A)60+6
West Arnhem (S)60+6
Clarence (C)60+6
Busselton (S)60+6
Denmark (S)60+6
Kalamunda (S)60+6
Mundaring (S)60+6
Serpentine-Jarrahdale (S)60+6
Victoria Park (T)60+6
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)60+6
Huon Valley (M)94+5
Eurobodalla (A)94+5
Gawler (T)2823+5
Karoonda East Murray (DC)73+4
Toowoomba (R)106+4
Campbelltown (C)73+4
Orange (C)63+3
Brimbank (C)63+3
Forbes (A)63+3
Greater Bendigo (C)96+3
Greater Shepparton (C)96+3
Casey (C)63+3
Corangamite (S)63+3
Stonnington (C)63+3
Townsville (C)2522+3
Burnie (C)63+3
Port Hedland (T)63+3
Gold Coast (C)3736+1
Mallala (DC)65+1
Port Lincoln (C)2221+1
Darebin (C)76+1
Frankston (C)76+1
Lismore (C)87+1
Wagga Wagga (C)76+1
The Hills Shire (A)87+1
Sutherland Shire (A)12120
Melbourne (C)660
Warrnambool (C)660
Wodonga (RC)660
Ipswich (C)16160
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)910-1
Queanbeyan (C)56-1
Unincorporated NT56-1
Litchfield (M)89-1
Roebourne (S)46-2
Cardinia (S)46-2
Warrumbungle Shire (A)36-3
Bathurst Regional (A)36-3
Mitchell (S)912-3
Southern Mallee (DC)1013-3
Albany (C)36-3
Ashburton (S)36-3
Scenic Rim (R)912-3
Grant (DC)69-3
Ceduna (DC)36-3
Gosnells (C)36-3
Rockingham (C)1518-3
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)913-4
Redland (C)37-4
Wakefield (DC)610-4
Ballarat (C)37-4
West Wimmera (S)610-4
Byron (A)38-5
Blacktown (C)612-6
Hornsby (A)06-6
Gosford (C)06-6
Greater Hume Shire (A)06-6
Wingecarribee (A)06-6
Wollongong (C)915-6
Shoalhaven (C)06-6
Wangaratta (RC)06-6
Moorabool (S)39-6
Gympie (R)06-6
Anangu Pitjantjatjara (AC)06-6
Copper Coast (DC)2127-6
Mandurah (C)814-6
Joondalup (C)612-6
No usual address (WA)06-6
Launceston (C)06-6
Katherine (T)06-6
No usual address (Qld)07-7
Adelaide (C)4653-7
Armadale (C)07-7
Port Phillip (C)613-7
Knox (C)07-7
Hepburn (S)07-7
Yorke Peninsula (DC)1826-8
Unincorporated SA412-8
Loxton Waikerie (DC)1624-8
Kingborough (M)08-8
Wanneroo (C)412-8
Stirling (C)09-9
Kentish (M)09-9
Barossa (DC)3342-9
Hume (C)09-9
Wyndham (C)615-9
Yarra Ranges (S)312-9
Alpine (S)010-10
Barunga West (DC)010-10
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)415-11
Mid Murray (DC)2233-11
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)415-11
No usual address (SA)314-11
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)1728-11
Ballina (A)012-12
Fraser Coast (R)315-12
Horsham (RC)015-15
Yankalilla (DC)2036-16
Light (RegC)421-17
Moreton Bay (R)1937-18
Greater Geelong (C)019-19
Sunshine Coast (R)1639-23
Cairns (R)645-39
Victor Harbor (C)2385-62
Murray Bridge (RC)213282-69
Alexandrina (DC)278680-402
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in profile.id by .id , the population experts.